Mondo Unveils Sorry to Bother You Vinyl Soundtrack Album

Mondo Unveils Sorry to Bother You Vinyl Soundtrack Album

It’s been two years since Boots Riley’s acclaimed dark comedy Sorry to Bother You hit theaters and now Mondo has revealed that, in partnership with Interscope Records, it is releasing a vinyl version of the film’ soundtrack album performed by Riley’s music group The Coup!

RELATED: Mondo Drops New Godzilla Gallery Collection

Set in an alternate present-day version of Oakland, Sorry to Bother You follows telemarketer Cassius Green (Lakeith Stanfield, Atlanta) who discovers a magical key to professional success, propelling him into a macabre universe.

Joining Stanfield in the film was Tessa Thompson (Thor: Ragnarok), Armie Hammer (The Social Network, Call Me By Your Name), Terry Crews (Brooklyn Nine-Nine, The Expendables), Steven Yeun (The Walking Dead, Mayhem), Omari Hardwick (Power, Kick-Ass), Jermaine Fowler (Superior Donuts), and Danny Glover (Lethal Weapon).

Written and directed by acclaimed musician Riley, his feature film debut was produced by Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker, Charles D. King and George Rush. It opened in 2018 to rave reviews from critics and audiences alike and was a box office hit, grossing over $18 million on a $3.2 million budget.

Riley wanted to settle the score once and for all, hence the text on the front cover reads “This is the real, actual soundtrack to the movie Sorry To Bother You by The Coup (This has all new songs and is not to be confused with the album of the same name by the same band years ago…)”. But what’s missing from that information download is that this album is absolutely stacked: featuring guests Killer Mike, Janelle Monáe, Tune-Yards, E-40, and The Coup’s signature politically charged funk-hip-hop, and Riley’s incredible lyrical prowess. It was one of the Mondo Music teams’ favorite albums of 2018, and they are honored to finally share it with the fans of one of the boldest, funniest films in recent years.

RELATED: CS Video: Director Boots Riley Talks Sorry to Bother You

Mondo’s soundtrack is available in two different packages designed by famed Oakland artist J. Otto Seibold (who also designed the film’s iconic logo), and is re-mastered for vinyl and pressed on 180 Gram white vinyl. The soundtrack will be available for purchase at on Wednesday, March 25.

The track list for the album includes;

Side A
1. Oyahytt (feat. Lakeith Stanfield)
2. Hey Saturday Night (feat. Tune-Yards)
3. Anitra’s Basement Tapes
4. Whathegirlmutha****inwannadoo (feat. Janelle Monáe)
Side B
5. Monsoon (feat. Killer Mike)
6. Level It Up
7. Over and Out/Sticky Sunrise (feat. Janelle Monáe)
8. We Need an Eruption
9. Crawl Out the Water (feat. E-40)


Marvel and DC