Creator Thanks Fans After HBO Cancels Lovecraft Country After Season 1

HBO has decided not to renew creator Misha Green and executive producer Jordan Peele’s supernatural horror drama Lovecraft Country for a second season, despite being well-received by critics and viewers. This cancellation comes after more than eight months since the Jonathan Majors and Jurnee Smollett-led series had wrapped up its 10-episode first season, which earned multiple nods including Golden Globe and SAG nominations for Best Television Series and Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble.

“We will not be moving forward with the second season of Lovecraft Country,” the network said in a statement. “We are grateful for the dedication and artistry of the gifted cast and crew, and to Misha Green, who crafted this groundbreaking series. And to the fans, thank you for joining us on this journey.”

Green also went to Twitter to thank the fans of Lovecraft Country, while also teasing the potential story plans that they’ve previously planned for the now-canceled second season.

RELATED: HBO Max’s Pretty Little Liars Reboot Finds Its First Two Leads

Based on author Matt Ruff’s novel of the same name, Lovecraft Country followed the story of Atticus Freeman as he joins up with his friend Letitia and his Uncle George to embark on a road trip across 1950s Jim Crow America in search of his missing father. This begins a struggle to survive and overcome both the racist terrors of white America and the terrifying monsters that could be ripped from a Lovecraft paperback.

Pick up a copy of the novel here!

The ensemble cast was led by Jonathan Majors, Jurnee Smollett, Courtney B. Vance, Wunmi Mosaku as Ruby Dandridge, Aunjanue Ellis, Michael Kenneth Williams, Abbey Lee, and Tony Goldwyn along with Jamie Harris, Jamie Chung, Jordan Patrick Smith, Jamie Neumann, Erica Tazel, and Mac Brandt.

RELATED: HBO’s The Last of Us Series Adaptation Begins Production

Lovecraft Country was created and executive produced by Misha Green, who also served as showrunner. Executive producers were J.J. Abrams, Jordan Peele, Bill Carraro, Yann Demange (who also directed Episode 1), Daniel Sackheim (who also directed Episodes 2 and 3), and David Knoller.