Lightyear Theme Song by Michael Giacchino Drops Ahead of Release

After working on the soundtracks for recent blockbuster hits Spider-Man: No Way Home and The Batman, Oscar-winning composer Michael Giacchino is involved in another high-profile feature as he officially reveals the first single from the Lightyear soundtrack for Disney and Pixar’s upcoming animated adventure. The digital soundtrack is set for release on June 17, the same day the film opens in U.S. theaters.

“One of my favorite sequences is called Mission Perpetual,” Giacchino said in a statement. “It’s early on in the film when Buzz is trying to accomplish a mission and keeps failing. It was an exciting challenge for me because there were so many things the music needed to convey: Buzz’s frustration with himself and the sadness of being alone in his pursuit, but also his undying ambition and drive to achieve his goal. I went through a similar ‘mission’ myself to get this cue right, but once I did, it was incredibly rewarding.”

RELATED: Elemental: Pixar Announces Next Fantasy Animated Film for 2023

The original score for Lightyear was recorded over 15 days with an 89-piece orchestra and a 39-member choir. The soundtrack features 31 tracks and will also be available in Dolby Atmos Music, a new technology placing the listener inside the song in a spatial way, revealing every detail of the music with unparalleled clarity and depth.

You can now listen to the Lightyear theme song, “Mission Perpetual,” in the player below:

“The definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear, the hero who inspired the toy, Lightyear follows the legendary Space Ranger after he’s marooned on a hostile planet 4.2 million light-years from Earth alongside his commander and their crew,” says the official synopsis. “As Buzz tries to find a way back home through space and time, he’s joined by a group of ambitious recruits and his charming robot companion cat, Sox. Complicating matters and threatening the mission is the arrival of Zurg, an imposing presence with an army of ruthless robots and a mysterious agenda.”

Joining Chris Evans, who will voice Buzz Lightyear, are Keke Palmer, Dale Soules, and Taika Waititi as a group of ambitious recruits. Meanwhile, Peter Sohn voices Buzz’s robot companion, Sox. Other cast members include Uzo Aduba, James Brolin, Mary McDonald-Lewis, Efren Ramirez, and Isiah Whitlock Jr.

RELATED: Generational Trauma: The Latest Disney Movie Trend

Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure film that hails from director and veteran Pixar animator Angus MacLane (Finding Dory). It is produced by Galyn Susman (Toy Story 4Ratatouille). Michael Giacchino is also serving as its composer.

The Toy Story franchise started with John Lasseter’s 1995 film, which spawned three more sequels. It featured the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Annie Potts, Don Rickles, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger, and more.


Marvel and DC