Betty Gilpin Joins Sarah Paulson in Impeachment: American Crime Story

Betty Gilpin joins Sarah Paulson in Impeachment: American Crime Story

Following the recent addition of Billy Eichner as Matt Drudge, Deadline brings word that two-time Emmy nominee Betty Gilpin (Nurse JackieGLOW ) has officially signed on to join the ensemble cast of Ryan Murphy’s Impeachment: American Crime Story, the upcoming third installment to FX’s drama anthology series. Gilpin is set to portray the role of conservative media specialist Ann Coulter, who was the legal adviser for Paula Jones’ attorneys, who represented Jones in her sexual harassment suit against Bill Clinton.

Gilpin will next be seen in the upcoming fourth and final season of GLOW, reprising her role as Debbie Eagan which had earned her two Emmy nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series. She will also appear in Chris Pratt’s new sci-fi action film The Tomorrow War also starring alongside J.K. Simmons, Yvonne Strahovski, and Sam Richardson.

RELATED: American Horror Story: Sarah Paulson Officially Returning for Season 10

Written and executive produced by Sarah Burgess, Impeachment: American Crime Story will center on former US president Bill Clinton’s infamous scandal and impeachment that happened during the 1990s. The limited series will star Emmy and Golden Globe-winning actress Sarah Paulson (American Horror Story, The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story) as Linda Tripp along with Golden Globe nominee Beanie Feldstein (Booksmart) as Monica Lewinsky, Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford (Masters of Sex) and Oscar nominee Clive Owen (Closer) as former U.S president Bill Clinton.

Based on Jeffrey Toobin’s bestselling book A Vast Conspiracy: The Real Story of the Sex Scandal That Nearly Brought Down a President, the series will unravel the national scandal that swept up Paula Jones, Monica Lewinsky, and Linda Tripp as principal characters in the country’s first impeachment proceedings in over a century. Lewinsky will serve as one of the producers.

The third installment will be executive produced by Ryan Murphy, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Brad Falchuk, Larry Karaszewski, Scott Alexander with Paulson, Feldstein, Alexis Martin Woodall, Henrietta Conrad, and Jemima Khan also set as producers. Monica Lewinsky also serves as a producer.

RELATED: Ewan McGregor To Star In Ryan Murphy’s New Netflix Series

The anthology series’ first installment, The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story, received 22 Emmy Award nominations and it won nine Emmys. It also won the Golden Globe, BAFTA, AFI, PGA, WGA and TCA awards and it was the most critically-acclaimed program of 2016. The second installment, The Assassination of Gianni Versace, which aired last year, has received a number of award nominations with lead star Darren Criss winning an Emmy award and Golden Golden award for Best Actor in a Limited Series.

Impeachment: American Crime Story will premiere on September 27 on FX.