BAM to Host John Carpenter Retrospective; Director in-conversation

ON

carpenter613x463

Is seminal filmmaker John Carpenter bigger than ever? Lately, it seems so. His iconic style, both cinematically and musically, is consistently referenced and revered in today’s genre cinema. Meanwhile, Lost Themes, his first album of original music not scored to any particular film, approaches and so does the 20th anniversary of In the Mouth of Madness. The latter, much like the director, is finding great appreciation, and all three will be celebrated by Brooklyn’s BAM in a retrospective this February.

Kicking off on February 5TH with a live conversation between Carpenter and NPR’s Brooke Gladstone on the director’s legacy of films and the release of Lost Themes, John Carpenter: Master of Fear will then screen almost all of the filmmaker’s features. Of course, all-out classics like Halloween, The Thing, Escape from New York and Assault on Precinct 13 are on deck, as are the undervalued treasures like Mouth of Madness, Prince of Darkness and The Fog. Most films, including Madness, Prince of Darkness, Vampires, Starman and EFNY will be presented in 35MM.

The retrospective also features a sidebar of films programmed by Carpenter himself. Carpenter Selects includes Forbidden Planet, Sam Peckinpah’s Straw Dogs and William Friedkin’s unbearably tense Sorcerer. All are cited by Carpenter for their scores, as well as being major influences.

You can find the full schedule of John Carpenter: Master of Fear, below. For tickets, on sale starting Thursday December 18, head to BAM.

Thu, Feb 5

8pm: John Carpenter: Lost Themes with Brooke Gladstone

Fri, Feb 6

3, 5, 7:30, 10pm: Halloween

Sat, Feb 7

7, 9:30pm: The Thing

Sun, Feb 8

6:30, 8:30pm: The Fog

Mon, Feb 9

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: In the Mouth of Madness

Tue, Feb 10

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Memoirs of an Invisible Man

Wed, Feb 11

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Prince of Darkness

Thu, Feb 12

7:30, 9:30pm: Dark Star

Fri, Feb 13

2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: Big Trouble in Little China

Sun, Feb 15

2, 6:30pm: Assault on Precinct 13 4, 8:30pm: Straw Dogs

Mon, Feb 16

2, 7pm: Christine 4:30, 9:30pm: Sorcerer

Tue, Feb 17

5, 7:15pm: Forbidden Planet 9:30pm: Vampires

Wed, Feb 18

5, 9:40pm: Village of the Damned 7:30pm: Vampires

Thu, Feb 19

5, 7:15pm: Ghosts of Mars 9:30pm: The Ward

Fri, Feb 20

2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: They Live

Sat, Feb 21

2, 7pm: Escape from New York 4:30, 9:30pm: Escape from L.A.

Sun, Feb 22

4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Starman

Box Office

Weekend: Sep. 19, 2019, Sep. 22, 2019

New Releases