2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced


On Monday night, the IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out and then yesterday, the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards announced their nominations with many familiar names and movies being mentioned between them, but also a few new ones.

Four movies were nominated in the three main categories- Feature, director and screenplay:
Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom, Benh Zeitlin’s Beasts of the Southern Wild, David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and the entry that wasn’t mentioned at the Gothams, Ira Sachs’ Keep the Light On. Julia Loktev received a nomination for directing The Loneliest Planet, which was a surprise entry into the Best Feature category at the Gothams.

As far as the acting categories, three of the movies above received lead acting nominations, both Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper for “Silver Linings,” Quvenzhané Wallis for “Beasts,” and Thure Lindhardt for “Light.” Bruce Willis received a supporting nomination for his performance in Wes Anderson’s movie.

Matthew McConaughey received two acting nominations in the lead category for William Friedkin’s Killer Joe and supporting for Steven Soderbergh’s Magic Mike.

Even though it wasn’t nominated in the main categories, Ben Lewin’s The Sessions received nominations for both its primary actors, John Hawkes and Helen Hunt, and Ava DuVernay’s Middle of Nowhere received three acting nominations.

Other actors nominated include Jack Black for Richard Linklater’s Bernie, Rosemarie DeWitt for Lynn Shelton’s Your Sister’s Sister, Ann Dowd for Craig Zobel’s Compliance, Brit Marling for Zal Batmanglij’s Sound of My Voice and Mary Elizabeth Winstead for James Ponsoldt’s Smashed.

With five nominations apiece, this gives a lot more weight to support for David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom on their road to the Oscars (which are handed out the day after the Independent Spirits), and Beasts of the Southern Wild‘s four nominations point to industry support for that as well. As mentioned in our recent Best Picture analysis piece, we think at least two of those will receive Best Picture nominations.

You can read the full list of nominations below:
(Thanks to AwardsDaily for the formatting)


Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
Fill the Void
Gimme the Loot
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound of My Voice
The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby


Breakfast with Curtis, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Laura Colella
Middle of Nowhere, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Ava DuVernay, PRODUCERS: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes,
Mosquita y Mari, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Aurora Guerrero, PRODUCER: Chad Burris
Starlet, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sean Baker, PRODUCERS: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri
The Color Wheel, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Alex Ross Perry, WRITER: Carlen Altman

Linda Cardellini, Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce, Four

Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
Michael Péna, End of Watch
Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley, Here
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
How to Survive a Plague
DIRECTOR: David France
PRODUCERS: David France, Howard Gertler

Marina Abramoviæ: The Artist is Present
DIRECTOR: Matthew Akers
PRODUCERS: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre

The Central Park Five
DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

The Invisible War
DIRECTOR: Kirby Dick
PRODUCERS: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering

The Waiting Room
PRODUCERS: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)
Once Upon A Time in Anatolia
Rust And Bone
War Witch

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Nobody Walks PRODUCER: Alicia Van Couvering
Prince Avalanche, PRODUCER: Derrick Tseng
Stones in the Sun, PRODUCER: Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Pincus, DIRECTOR: David Fenster
Gimme the Loot, DIRECTOR: Adam Leon
Electrick Children, DIRECTOR: Rebecca Thomas

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

DIRECTOR: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel
The Waiting Room, DIRECTOR: Peter Nicks
Only the Young, DIRECTOR: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and
its ensemble cast)
Starlet, Director: Sean Baker