2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced

On Monday night, the IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out and then yesterday, the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards announced their nominations with many familiar names and movies being mentioned between them, but also a few new ones.

Four movies were nominated in the three main categories- Feature, director and screenplay:

Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom, Benh Zeitlin’s Beasts of the Southern Wild, David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and the entry that wasn’t mentioned at the Gothams, Ira Sachs’ Keep the Light On. Julia Loktev received a nomination for directing The Loneliest Planet, which was a surprise entry into the Best Feature category at the Gothams.

As far as the acting categories, three of the movies above received lead acting nominations, both Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper for “Silver Linings,” Quvenzhané Wallis for “Beasts,” and Thure Lindhardt for “Light.” Bruce Willis received a supporting nomination for his performance in Wes Anderson’s movie.

Matthew McConaughey received two acting nominations in the lead category for William Friedkin’s Killer Joe and supporting for Steven Soderbergh’s Magic Mike.

Even though it wasn’t nominated in the main categories, Ben Lewin’s The Sessions received nominations for both its primary actors, John Hawkes and Helen Hunt, and Ava DuVernay’s Middle of Nowhere received three acting nominations.

Other actors nominated include Jack Black for Richard Linklater’s Bernie, Rosemarie DeWitt for Lynn Shelton’s Your Sister’s Sister, Ann Dowd for Craig Zobel’s Compliance, Brit Marling for Zal Batmanglij’s Sound of My Voice and Mary Elizabeth Winstead for James Ponsoldt’s Smashed.

With five nominations apiece, this gives a lot more weight to support for David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom on their road to the Oscars (which are handed out the day after the Independent Spirits), and Beasts of the Southern Wild‘s four nominations point to industry support for that as well. As mentioned in our recent Best Picture analysis piece, we think at least two of those will receive Best Picture nominations.

You can read the full list of nominations below:

(Thanks to AwardsDaily for the formatting)



Beasts of the Southern Wild


Keep the Lights On

Moonrise Kingdom

Silver Linings Playbook


Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom

Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild


Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom

Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks

Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

Fill the Void

Gimme the Loot

Safety Not Guaranteed

Sound of My Voice

The Perks of Being a Wallflower


Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void

Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank

Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever

Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby


Breakfast with Curtis, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Laura Colella

Middle of Nowhere, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Ava DuVernay, PRODUCERS: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes,

Mosquita y Mari, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Aurora Guerrero, PRODUCER: Chad Burris

Starlet, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sean Baker, PRODUCERS: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri

The Color Wheel, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Alex Ross Perry, WRITER: Carlen Altman


Linda Cardellini, Return

Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed


Jack Black, Bernie

Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

John Hawkes, The Sessions

Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On

Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe

Wendell Pierce, Four


Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister

Ann Dowd, Compliance

Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice

Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere


Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere

Michael Péna, End of Watch

Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths

Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom


Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints

Lol Crawley, Here

Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch

Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

How to Survive a Plague

DIRECTOR: David France

PRODUCERS: David France, Howard Gertler

Marina Abramoviæ: The Artist is Present

DIRECTOR: Matthew Akers

PRODUCERS: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre

The Central Park Five

DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

The Invisible War

DIRECTOR: Kirby Dick

PRODUCERS: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering

The Waiting Room


PRODUCERS: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)


Once Upon A Time in Anatolia

Rust And Bone


War Witch

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Nobody Walks PRODUCER: Alicia Van Couvering

Prince Avalanche, PRODUCER: Derrick Tseng

Stones in the Sun, PRODUCER: Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Pincus, DIRECTOR: David Fenster

Gimme the Loot, DIRECTOR: Adam Leon

Electrick Children, DIRECTOR: Rebecca Thomas

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.


DIRECTOR: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel

The Waiting Room, DIRECTOR: Peter Nicks

Only the Young, DIRECTOR: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and

its ensemble cast)

Starlet, Director: Sean Baker


Marvel and DC