Live Bloggin’ the 84th Annual Academy Awards!


The 84th Annual Academy Awards aired Sunday night on ABC and’s The Oscar Warrior Edward Douglas live-blogged the festivities, hosted by Billy Crystal, as well as some of the pre-show arrivals. You can check out a recap of the live blog below. You can also check out the full list of winners and nominees below the live blog!

Best Picture
**Winner** The Artist (The Weinstein Company), Thomas Langmann, Producer
The Descendants (Fox Searchlight Pictures), Jim Burke, Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor, Producers
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (Warner Bros. Pictures), Scott Rudin, Producer
The Help (Touchstone Pictures), Brunson Green, Chris Columbus and Michael Barnathan, Producers
Hugo (Paramount Pictures), Graham King and Martin Scorsese, Producers
Midnight in Paris (Sony Pictures Classics), Letty Aronson and Stephen Tenenbaum, Producers
Moneyball (Columbia Pictures), Michael De Luca, Rachael Horovitz and Brad Pitt, Producers
The Tree of Life (Fox Searchlight Pictures), Sarah Green, Bill Pohlad, Dede Gardner and Grant Hill, Producers
War Horse (Touchstone Pictures), Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers

**Winner** Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Alexander Payne – The Descendants
Martin Scorsese – Hugo
Woody Allen – Midnight in Paris
Terrence Malick – The Tree of Life

Actor in a Leading Role
**Winner** Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Demián Bichir – A Better Life
George Clooney – The Descendants
Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Brad Pitt – Moneyball

Actress in a Leading Role
**Winner** Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady
Glenn Close – Albert Nobbs
Viola Davis – The Help
Rooney Mara – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn

Actor in a Supporting Role
**Winner** Christopher Plummer – Beginners
Kenneth Branagh – My Week with Marilyn
Jonah Hill – Moneyball
Nick Nolte – Warrior
Max von Sydow – Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Actress in a Supporting Role
**Winner** Octavia Spencer – The Help
Bérénice Bejo – The Artist
Jessica Chastain – The Help
Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids
Janet McTeer – Albert Nobbs

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
**Winner** The Descendants, Screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash
Hugo, Screenplay by John Logan
The Ides of March, Screenplay by George Clooney & Grant Heslov and Beau Willimon
Moneyball, Screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin. Story by Stan Chervin
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Screenplay by Bridget O’Connor & Peter Straughan

Writing (Original Screenplay)
**Winner** Midnight in Paris, Written by Woody Allen
The Artist, Written by Michel Hazanavicius
Bridesmaids, Written by Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig
Margin Call, Written by J.C. Chandor
A Separation, Written by Asghar Farhadi

Foreign Language Film
**Winner** A Separation (Sony Pictures Classics), Iran
Bullhead (A Savage Film Production), Belgium
Footnote (Sony Pictures Classics), Israel
In Darkness (Sony Pictures Classics), Poland
Monsieur Lazhar (Music Box Films), Canada

Animated Feature Film
**Winner** Rango (Paramount Pictures), Gore Verbinski
A Cat in Paris (GKIDS), Alain Gagnol and Jean-Loup Felicioli
Chico & Rita (GKIDS), Fernando Trueba and Javier Mariscal
Kung Fu Panda 2 (DreamWorks Animation), Jennifer Yuh Nelson
Puss In Boots (DreamWorks Animation), Chris Miller

Art Direction
**Winner** Hugo, Production Design: Dante Ferretti; Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo
The Artist, Production Design: Laurence Bennett; Set Decoration: Robert Gould
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Stephenie McMillan
Midnight in Paris, Production Design: Anne Seibel; Set Decoration: Hélène Dubreuil
War Horse, Production Design: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales

**Winner** Robert Richardson – Hugo
Guillaume Schiffman – The Artist
Jeff Cronenweth – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Emmanuel Lubezki – The Tree of Life
Janusz Kaminski – War Horse

Costume Design
**Winner** Mark Bridges – The Artist
Lisy Christl – Anonymous
Sandy Powell – Hugo
Michael O’Connor – Jane Eyre
Arianne Phillips – W.E.

Film Editing
**Winner** Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Anne-Sophie Bion and Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Kevin Tent – The Descendants
Thelma Schoonmaker – Hugo
Christopher Tellefsen – Moneyball

Documentary (Feature)
**Winner** Undefeated (The Weinstein Company), TJ Martin, Dan Lindsay and Richard Middlemas
Hell and Back Again (Docurama Films), Danfung Dennis and Mike Lerner
If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front (Oscilloscope Laboratories), Marshall Curry and Sam Cullman
Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory (A Radical.Media Production), Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky
Pina (Sundance Selects), Wim Wenders and Gian-Piero Ringel

**Winner** The Iron Lady, Mark Coulier and J. Roy Helland
Albert Nobbs, Martial Corneville, Lynn Johnston and Matthew W. Mungle
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, Nick Dudman, Amanda Knight and Lisa Tomblin

Music (Original Score)
**Winner** Ludovic Bource – The Artist
John Williams – The Adventures of Tintin
Howard Shore – Hugo
Alberto Iglesias – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
John Williams – War Horse

Music (Original Song)
**Winner** “Man or Muppet” from The Muppets, Music and Lyric by Bret McKenzie
“Real in Rio” from Rio, Music by Sergio Mendes and Carlinhos Brown Lyric by Siedah Garrett

Sound Mixing
**Winner** Hugo, Tom Fleischman and John Midgley
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Ren Klyce and Bo Persson
Moneyball, Deb Adair, Ron Bochar, Dave Giammarco and Ed Novick
Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Peter J. Devlin
War Horse, Gary Rydstrom, Andy Nelson, Tom Johnson and Stuart Wilson

Sound Editing
**Winner** Hugo, Philip Stockton and Eugene Gearty
Drive, Lon Bender and Victor Ray Ennis
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Ren Klyce
Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Ethan Van der Ryn and Erik Aadahl
War Horse, Richard Hymns and Gary Rydstrom

Visual Effects
**Winner** Hugo, Rob Legato, Joss Williams, Ben Grossman and Alex Henning
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, Tim Burke, David Vickery, Greg Butler and John Richardson
Real Steel, Erik Nash, John Rosengrant, Dan Taylor and Swen Gillberg
Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, R. Christopher White and Daniel Barrett
Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Scott Farrar, Scott Benza, Matthew Butler and John Frazier

Documentary (Short Subject)
**Winner** Saving Face, Daniel Junge and Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
The Barber of Birmingham: Foot Soldier of the Civil Rights Movement, Robin Fryday and Gail Dolgin
God Is the Bigger Elvis, Rebecca Cammisa and Julie Anderson
Incident in New Baghdad, James Spione
The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom, Lucy Walker and Kira Carstensen

Short Film (Animated)
**Winner** The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, William Joyce and Brandon Oldenburg
Dimanche/Sunday, Patrick Doyon
La Luna, Enrico Casarosa
A Morning Stroll, Grant Orchard and Sue Goffe
Wild Life, Amanda Forbis and Wendy Tilby

Short Film (Live Action)
**Winner** The Shore, Terry George and Oorlagh George
Pentecost, Peter McDonald and Eimear O’Kane
Raju, Max Zähle and Stefan Gieren
Time Freak, Andrew Bowler and Gigi Causey
Tuba Atlantic, Hallvar Witzø