The Full List of Nominations for the 86th Annual Academy Awards!

Nominations for the 86th Academy Awards were announced Thursday morning, January 16, by Chris Hemsworth and Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Cheryl Boone Isaacs at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. You can check out the full list of nominees below! American Hustle and Gravity led the way with 10 nominations each, followed by 12 Years a Slave with 9.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2013 will be presented on Sunday, March 2, 2014, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center and televised live on the ABC Television Network. The presentation, produced by Craig Zadan and Neil Meron, also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Nominations for the 86th Academy Awards:

Best Picture

American Hustle (Sony), Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison and Jonathan Gordon, Producers

Captain Phillips (Sony), Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers

Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features), Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers

Gravity (Warner Bros.), Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers

Her (Warner Bros.), Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers

Nebraska (Paramount), Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers

Philomena (The Weinstein Company), Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers

12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight), Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers

The Wolf of Wall Street (Paramount), Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers


David O. Russell – American Hustle

Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity

Alexander Payne – Nebraska

Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave

Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Actor in a Leading Role

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Actress in a Leading Role

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

Actor in a Supporting Role

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Actress in a Supporting Role

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’O – 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

June Squibb – Nebraska

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

Before Midnight, Written by Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy

Captain Phillips, Written by Billy Ray

Philomena, Written by Jeff Pope & Steve Coogan

12 Years a Slave, Written by John Ridley

The Wolf of Wall Street, Written by Terrence Winter

Writing (Original Screenplay)

American Hustle, Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell

Blue Jasmine, Written by Woody Allen

Dallas Buyers Club, Written by Craig Borten and Melissa Wallack

Her, Written by Spike Jonze

Nebraska, Written by Bob Nelson

Foreign Language Film

The Broken Circle Breakdown (Tribeca Film), Belgium

The Great Beauty (Janus Films), Italy

The Hunt (Magnolia), Denmark

The Missing Picture, Cambodia

Omar (Adopt Films) , Palestine

Animated Feature Film

The Croods (DreamWorks Animation), Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco

Despicable Me 2 (Universal/Imagination), Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin

Ernest and Celestine(GKids), Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner

Frozen (Walt Disney Animation), Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee

The Wind Rises (Walt Disney), Hayao Miyazaki,Toshio Suzuki

Production Design

American Hustle, Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler

Gravity, Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard

The Great Gatsby, Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn

Her, Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena

12 Years a Slave, Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker


Philippe Le Sourd – The Grandmaster

Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity

Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis

Phedon Papamichael – Nebraska

Roger A. Deakins – Prisoners

Costume Design

Michael Wilkinson – American Hustle

William Chang Suk Ping – The Grandmaster

Catherine Martin – The Great Gatsby

Michael O’Connor – The Invisible Woman

Patricia Norris – 12 Years a Slave

Film Editing

Jay Cassidy & Kevin Tent – American Hustle

Christopher Rouse – Captain Phillips

John Mac McMurphy & Martin Pensa – Dallas Buyers Club

Mark Sanger & Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity

Joe Walker – 12 Years a Slave

Documentary (Feature)

The Act of Killing (Drafthouse Films), Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen

Cutie and the Boxer (RADiUS•TWC), Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher

Dirty Wars (IFC Films), Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill

The Square (Noujaim Films), Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer

20 Feet From Stardom (RADiUS•TWC), Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen and Caitrin Rogers

Makeup and Hairstyling

Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews

Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty

The Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Music (Original Score)

John Williams – The Book Thief

Steven Price – Gravity

William Butler & Owen Pallett – Her

Alexandre Desplat – Philomena;

Thomas Newman – Saving Mr. Banks

Music (Original Song)

“Happy” from Despicable Me 2

Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams

“Let It Go” from Frozen

Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

“The Moon Song” from Her

Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze

“Ordinary Love” from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Sound Mixing

Captain Phillips, Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro

Gravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson

Inside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland

Lone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Sound Editing

All is Lost, Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns

Captain Phillips, Oliver Tarney

Gravity, Glenn Freemantle

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent Burge

Lone Survivor, Wylie Stateman

Visual Effects

Gravity, Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds

Iron Man 3, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick

The Lone Ranger, Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier

Star Trek into Darkness, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

Documentary (Short Subject)

“CaveDigger,” Jeffrey Karoff

“Facing Fear,” Jason Cohen

“Karama Has No Walls,” Sara Ishaq

“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life,” Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed

“Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall,” Edgar Barens

Short Film (Animated)

“Feral” Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden

“Get a Horse!” Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim

“Mr. Hublot” Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares

“Possessions” Shuhei Morita

“Room on the Broom” Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Short Film (Live Action)

“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” Esteban Crespo

“Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)” Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras

“Helium” Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson

“Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari

“The Voorman Problem” Mark Gill and Baldwin Li


Marvel and DC