The Office to End After the Upcoming Season Nine


“The Office,” NBC’s popular interpretation of the original Ricky Gervais sitcom, is planning to end it’s nine-season run in 2013 with roughly 200 episodes under its belt. The Hollywood Reporter received the news this morning with the additional update that Executive Producer Greg Daniels will be returning for the final season as full-time showrunner.

Lead by Steve Carell for much of the show’s first seven seasons, the ensemble comedy’s cast currently includes Rainn Wilson, John Krasinski, Jenna Fischer, B. J. Novak, Ed Helms, Leslie David Baker, Brian Baumgartner, Creed Bratton, Kate Flannery, Mindy Kaling, Ellie Kemper, Angela Kinsey, Paul Lieberstein, Oscar Nunez, Craig Robinson, Phyllis Smith, Zach Woods and Catherine Tate. Newcomers for season nine include Jake Lacy and Clark Duke.

Daniels told the outlet that, while plans at this stage are still very tentative, he’d like to have the pilot’s director, Ken Kwapis, return for the series finale and depending on scheduling, Carell may make one final appearance as Michael Scott.

Though “The Office” will be ending, NBC will be launching a spinoff tentatively titled “The Farm,” which will focus on Wilson’s Dwight Shrute and his family.

Box Office

Weekend: Oct. 25, 2018, Oct. 28, 2018

New Releases