2006 SAG Awards Set for Sunday, Jan. 29, 2006


For the first time since TNT began live telecasts of the SAG Awards® in 1998, the top-rated drama network will be joined by sister network TBS for a live simulcast presentation, according to an announcement by Steve Koonin, executive vice president and chief operating officer for both networks, and Greg Hessinger, national executive director and CEO, Screen Actors Guild. The prestigious industry event annually honors outstanding performances in five film categories and eight television categories, including the distinctive ensemble awards, which commend the collaborative performance by a cast of a motion picture and by the ensembles of both comedy and dramatic television series. The 12th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®, the night that actors honor their own, will be presented on both networks Sunday, Jan. 29, 2006, at 8 p.m. (ET/PT), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT).

“Since the SAG Awards® honors both dramatic and comedic performances, TNT, television’s first network for drama, and TBS, television’s ‘very funny’ network, are ideal companions to present this exciting annual event,” said Koonin. “This simulcast allows us to utilize the brands of both networks to market the presentation in ways that speak to both drama fans and comedy lovers.”

“Screen Actors Guild has valued our rewarding relationship with TNT over the past eight years and their dynamic support of the Screen Actors Guild Awards®,” said Hessinger. “We are grateful for Turner Broadcasting System’s significant recognition of both the SAG Awards’® unique place in the industry and wide appeal to the home audience. We appreciate this increased opportunity for fans of film and television to share in our celebration of excellence.”

Of the top accolades presented to performers, only the Screen Actors Guild Awards® are conferred solely by actors’ peers. The SAG Awards® was the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members. Separate film and television nominating committees, each consisting of 2,100 SAG members from around the country, randomly selected anew each year, choose the annual SAG Awards® nominees. Submissions for the 12th Annual SAG Awards® nominations will open on July 18, 2005. All active members of SAG will receive ballots to determine who will receive Actors® for outstanding performances in 2005.

The Screen Actors Guild Awards® are anticipated by audiences as an emotional, memorable evening of live television and are watched closely by the industry as a precursor of possible Oscar® and Emmy® recognition. This past February, all four actors honored with Actor® statuettes for their individual lead and supporting motion picture performances went on to receive Oscars®.

The 12th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® are produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild. Jeff Margolis is the executive producer and Kathy Connell is the producer. Yale Summers, Karla Tamburrelli, Daryl Anderson, Shelley Fabares and Paul Napier are producers for SAG. Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Mick McCullough are supervising producers. Benn Fleishman is executive in charge of production.

Box Office

Weekend: Nov. 15, 2018, Nov. 18, 2018

New Releases