2014 WGA Nominations Find ‘Llewyn Davis’ Snubbed Again, ‘Dallas Buyers Club’ Gains Momentum


2014 WGA Awards nominees

Jared Leto and Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club
Photo: Focus Features

The Writers Guild of America (WGA) has announced the nominees for the 2014 WGA Awards and, as always, there will be Oscar contending screenplays that weren’t eligible due to WGA qualifying rules. This year some of the ineligible scripts include 12 Years a Slave, Rush, Fruitvale Station and Philomena (via HitFix). The absence of such titles make the Oscar race a little more interesting, but if you think Lone Survivor is going to get a nomination (as much as I like seeing it recognized) over 12 Years a Slave guess again.

In fact, looking at the nominations compared to my current Oscar predictions for Adapted and Original Screenplay you’re going to find few differences.

In the Original category the biggest difference is yet another snub for Inside Llewyn Davis, which was looked over yesterday by the Producers Guild and again today by the WGA, and once again, in its place we find Dallas Buyers Club, which has gained some serious momentum in the last 48 hours.

In the Adapted category the only difference between my predictions and these nominations is the aforementioned Lone Survivor nomination in the place of John Ridley ineligible 12 Years a Slave script, which is currently my frontrunner to win the Oscar.

I have included the complete list of original, adapted and documentary nominations below. Winners will be honored at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 1, 2014, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.


  • American Hustle – Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell; Columbia Pictures
  • Blue Jasmine – Written by Woody Allen; Sony Pictures Classics
  • Dallas Buyers Club – Written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack; Focus Features
  • Her – Written by Spike Jonze; Warner Bros.
  • Nebraska – Written by Bob Nelson; Paramount Pictures


  • August: Osage County – Screenplay by Tracy Letts; Based on his play; The Weinstein Company
  • Before Midnight – Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke; Based on characters created by Richard Linklater & Kim Krizan; Sony Classics
  • Captain Phillips – Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty; Columbia Pictures
  • Lone Survivor – Written by Peter Berg; Based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson; Universal Pictures
  • The Wolf of Wall Street – Screenplay by Terence Winter; Based on the book by Jordan Belfort; Paramount Pictures


  • Dirty Wars – Written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker; Sundance Selects
  • Herblock – The Black and the White – Written by Sara Lukinson and Michael Stevens; The Stevens Company
  • No Place on Earth – Written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin; Magnolia Pictures
  • Stories We Tell – Written by Sarah Polley; Roadside Attractions
  • We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks – Written by Alex Gibney; Focus Features