Whose Line is It Anyway and Five Other Shows Renewed By CW

Whose Line Is It Anyway and Four Other Shows Renewed By CW

As the summer has come to an end, the CW has made its final decisions on its 2019 summer programming and has given renewal orders to five of its series, including long-running sketch series Whose Line Is It Anyway?, reality magic series Penn & Teller: Fool Us and Masters of Illusion and dramas The Outpost and Burden of Truth, all of which will premiere in 2019, according to Deadline.

RELATED: The Outpost Season Finale Trailer Goes Beyond the Wall

The CW also just picked up Bulletproof from Vertigo Films and Company Pictures, following two undercover cops (Noel Clarke, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Ashley Walters, Top Boy) working in the hardened East End of London. The two, a family man trying to break out of his decorated police officers’ father’s shadow and a street-raised man with no ties to his family, work past their differences as their moral codes bring them closer together.

Allan Niblo (Monsters), Michele Buck (Midsomer Murders), Judy Counihan (No Man’s Land), Nick Love (The Sweeney), Clarke and Walters will executive produce the series, which was co-funded by Sky’s distribution arm, Sky Vision, who control international rights.

Having just returned for its sixth season on The CW, Whose Line is it Anyway? features host Aisha Tyler and cast members Ryan Stiles, Wayne Brady and Colin Mochrie. Along with a special guest comedian in each episode, the cast members must put their comedic skills to the test through a series of spontaneous improv games. Prompted only by random ideas supplied by the studio audience and host Aisha Tyler, our four performers must use their wild imaginations to conjure up hilarious characters, scenes and songs out of thin air. So, as everyone knows, on Whose Line, everything is made up and the points don’t matter.

Based on the wildly successful U.K. format, which also spawned a previous incarnation in the US that ran for eight seasons on ABC, Whose Line is it Anyway? is executive produced by Dan Patterson, Mark Leveson, Jimmy Mulville, Ryan Stiles, Wayne Brady and Colin Mochrie. Created by Dan Patterson and Mark Leveson, Whose Line is it Anyway? is from Angst Productions and Hat Trick Productions.

Penn & Teller: Fool Us is a one-hour competition series celebrating magic and featuring the legendary duo Penn & Teller. On each episode of Penn & Teller: Fool Us, aspiring magicians are invited to perform their best trick to try and fool the world-famous team of Penn & Teller. Anyone who succeeds wins the right to perform with Penn & Teller in their celebrated show at the Rio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. The live studio audience and the TV audience watch along with Penn & Teller as they try to figure out the secrets. Penn & Teller see the trick only once and have to immediately try to work it out. The live studio audience knows there are no camera tricks, secret edits or helpful camera cuts. This is all real magic.

Hosted by actress Alyson Hannigan (“Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “How I Met Your Mother”), Penn & Teller: Fool Us is created and produced by 117 PRODUCTIONS and September Films (part of DCD Media), with executive producers Penn Jillette, Teller, Peter Adam Golden and Andrew Golder.

RELATED: CW Orders More Scripts for All American, Charmed Reboot, and Legacies

Hosted by actor Dean Cain (“Supergirl,” “Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman”), Masters of Illusion features amazing magic performed by cutting-edge illusionists and escape artists, and performers in each episode displaying skills ranging from perplexing interactive mind magic to hilarious comedy routines. Live audience members and viewers at home will be baffled by the astounding skills of these modern illusionists.

Masters of Illusion is from Associated Television International with executive producers David McKenzie (The 38th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, Marie), Gay Blackstone (The World Magic Awards 2007-2009), David Martin (The World Magic Awards 2007-2009, Marie) and Al Schwartz (The 38th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, The Golden Globe Awards 2013 and 2014, The Gulf is Back), along with co-executive producers Justin Pierce (The Rocky Saga: Going The Distance) and Jim Romanovich (The 38th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, Marie).

The Outpost follows Talon (Jessica Green, Ash vs Evil Dead), the lone survivor of a race called “Blackbloods.” Years after her entire village is destroyed by a gang of brutal mercenaries, Talon travels to a lawless fortress on the edge of the civilized world, as she tracks the killers of her family. On her journey to this outpost, Talon discovers she possesses a mysterious supernatural power that she must learn to control in order to save herself, and defend the world against a fanatical religious dictator.

The Outpost also stars Jake Stormoen (ExtinctMythica), Imogen Waterhouse (Nocturnal AnimalsBraid) Andrew Howard (Hatfields and McCoysHell on Wheels), Anand Desai-Barochia (EmmerdaleLake Mead) and Robyn Malcolm (Top of the LakeHostiles).

Electric Entertainment and Arrowstorm Entertainment executive producers Dean Devlin (StargateThe Librarians), Jonathan Glassner (Stargate SG-1) and Jason Faller and Kynan Griffin created the series.

In addition to Devlin and Glassner, The Outpost is executive produced by Electric Entertainment’s team of Marc Roskin and Rachel Olschan-Wilson. Jennifer Griffin of Arrowstorm Entertainment is also producing. The deal was brokered by Steve Saltman, the newly appointed Head of Domestic Sales for Electric Entertainmet. Electric is the worldwide sales agent on the series that will also air on SyFy channels outside the U.S.

Burden of Truth stars Kristin Kreuk (Smallville, Beauty and the Beast) as a big city lawyer who returns to her hometown to take on what she thinks is a simple case, only to find herself in a fight for justice for a group of sick girls. Burden of Truth also stars Peter Mooney (Rookie Blue), Alex Carter (NCIS), Benjamin Ayres (Saving Hope), Nicola Correia-Damude (Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments), Meegwun Fairbrother (Hemlock Grove) and newcomer Star Slade.

Burden of Truth is produced by ICF Films, eOne, and Eagle Vision. The series is created by Brad Simpson (Rookie Blue, King) and is executive produced by Kristin Kreuk, Ilana Frank (The Eleventh Hour, Saving Hope, Rookie Blue), Linda Pope (Saving Hope, Rookie Blue), and Jocelyn Hamilton (Mary Kills People, Cardinal). Burden of Truth is produced with the participation of the Canada Media Fund and Manitoba Film and Music, and with the assistance of the Government of Manitoba – Manitoba Film & Video Production Tax Credit, and the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit. eOne controls worldwide rights to the series.


Marvel and DC