Preview Junkie XL’s Score for ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ and Preorder Now


mad-max-fury-road-soundtrackWarner Bros. has released the soundtrack listing and a track from Tom Holkenborg‘s (aka Junkie XL) score for the upcoming Mad Max: Fury Road, which is available for preorder right now on Amazon.

Holkenborg is also scoring the upcoming Point Break remake as well as Zack Snyder‘s Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and in a press release regarding his work on the Mad Max score we learn he utilized nearly 200 instruments — everything from beating drums to sweeping strings and electric guitar-driven operatic themes — for the score and for the film’s lighter moments, he studied Hollywood’s Golden Age channeling a Bernard Herman-esque sound with driving strings and woodwinds.

“When you’re watching the film, you’re in a world that has gone completely mad,” Holkenborg said. “Everything we know about society is out of the window. It’s so out of this world crazy that it felt like the sum of the previous three movies. To capture this, the music couldn’t be a standard action score. It needed to be incredibly over the top to fit the imagery, almost as if it were a modern rock opera. The score includes almost everything in a composer’s arsenal. The instrumentation ranges from big, brutal percussion and an 80-voice choir, with string sections and musical sound design, and everything in between. I used anything I could get my hands on.”

[amz asin=”B00UART6C6″ size=”small”]Holkenborg’s previous film work includes Divergent, 300: Rise of an Empire and Run All Night. Check out the Mad Max: Fury Road tracklisting below and listen to “Escape” below that. The score will be available for purchase three days before the film hits theaters on May 15.

  1. Survive (Extended Version) (1:40)
  2. Escape (Extended Version) (3:28)
  3. Immortan’s Citadel (Extended Version) (8:58)
  4. Blood Bag (Extended Version) (3:39)
  5. Buzzards Arrive (Bonus Track) (1:26)
  6. Spikey Cars (Extended Version) (4:08)
  7. Storm Is Coming (Extended Version) (6:16)
  8. We Are Not Things (Extended Version) (1:42)
  9. Water (Extended Version) (6:25)
  10. The Rig (Extended Version) (6:31)
  11. Into the Canyon (Bonus Track) (2:49)
  12. Brothers In Arms (Extended Version) (5:52)
  13. The Chase (Bonus Track) (3:16)
  14. Moving On (Bonus Track) (1:56)
  15. The Bog (Extended Version) (12:32)
  16. Redemption (1:45)
  17. Many Mothers (Extended Version) (8:58)
  18. The Return To Nowhere (Bonus Track) (5:17)
  19. Claw Trucks (Extended Version) (5:43)
  20. Immortan (Bonus Track) (11:10)
  21. Chapter Doof (6:49)
  22. Walhalla Awaits (Bonus Track) (2:40)
  23. My Name Is Max (2:23)
  24. Let Them Up (2:36)
  25. Mary Jo Bassa (Bonus Track) (2:26)
  26. Coda (Bonus Track) (4:43)

[amz asin=”B00UART6C6″ size=”large”]

Box Office

Weekend: Mar. 21, 2019, Mar. 24, 2019

New Releases