Netflix’s Fear Street Trilogy: R.L. Stine Adaptations Receive R-Rating

According to Film Ratings, Netflix’s highly-anticipated film adaptations of R.L. Stine’s classic YA horror novel series Fear Street have officially been given an R-rating from the MPAA. Part 1: 1994 is rated R for “strong bloody violence, drug content, language, and some sexual content,” and Part 2: 1978 for “bloody horror violence, sexual content, nudity, drug use, and language throughout.” The first two films were actually the only ones that were given a rating, but it’s most likely that the final installment Fear Street: Part 3: 1666 would also be Rated R, due to its themes pertaining to witchcraft.

This also marks the first time that an R.L. Stine film adaptation has been rated R.

RELATED: Netflix’s Fear Street Trilogy Trailer Teases Three Killer Stories

Based on R.L. Stine’s best-selling horror series, the Fear Street trilogy will cover three different time periods, going all the way back to the 1600s. In 1994, a group of teenagers discovers that the terrifying events that have haunted their town for generations may all be connected — and that they may be the next targets. The three-week event follows Shadyside’s sinister history through a nightmare 300 years in the making.

Fear Street Part 1: 1994, which is coming on July 2, is set in the aftermath of a brutal tragedy in Shadyside, Ohio as a circle of teenage friends accidentally encounter the ancient evil responsible for a series of brutal murders that have plagued their town for over 300 years. Fear Street Part 2: 1978, set to debut a week later on July 9, takes place in Shadyside, 1978. School’s out for summer and the activities at Camp Nightwing are about to begin. But when another Shadysider is possessed with the urge to kill, the fun in the sun becomes a gruesome fight for survival. Fear Street Part 3: 1666 comes out the following week on July 16 and is about a colonial town that is gripped by a hysterical witch-hunt that has deadly consequences for centuries to come. It’s up to teenagers in 1994 to try and finally put an end to their town’s curse before it’s too late.

Click here to purchase the original novel in R.L. Stine’s series, “The New Girl”!

The trilogy stars Kiana Madeira, Olivia Scott Welch, Benjamin Flores Jr., Julia Rehwald, Fred Hechinger, Ashley Zukerman, Maya Hawke, Darrell Britt-Gibson, Jordyn Dinatale, Sadie Sink, Emily Rudd, Ryan Simpkins, McCabe Slye, Ted Sutherland, Jordana Spiro, Gillian Jacobs, Chiara Aurelia, Elizabeth Scopel, and Randy Havens.

RELATED: Stranger Things Season 4 Adds Anne with an E’s Amybeth McNulty & More

Leigh Janiak will serve as the director and executive producer of the Fear Street trilogy, which will feature a screenplay adapted by Kyle Killen. Producers are Peter Chernin, David Ready, Jenno Topping, Doug Torres, and Jeffrey Harlacker with Kori Adelson, Timothy M, Bourne, Yvonne M. Bernard, Joan Waricha, and Jane Stine set as executive producers.


Marvel and DC