Anton Yelchin, Zooey Deschanel and More Head to The Driftless Area


Unified Pictures and Bron Studios revealed today that Anton Yelchin (Star Trek, Only Lovers Left Alive), three-time Golden Globe nominee Zooey Deschanel ((500) Days of Summer, Elf), Academy Award nominee John Hawkes (The Sessions, Winter’s Bone), Ciaran Hinds (There Will Be Blood, “Game of Thrones”) and Alia Shawkat (“Arrested Development,” Cedar Rapids) will star in the dark comedy The Driftless Area.

Adapted from award-winning author Tom Drury’s novel of the same title, The Driftless Area will be directed by Zachary Sluser, who co-wrote the screenplay with Drury.

The Driftless Area centers on the enigmatic Stella (Deschanel) and Pierre (Yelchin), a quietly resourceful bartender who returns to his hometown after the death of his parents. When Pierre falls in love with Stella, he is unwittingly drawn into a circle of fate pitting him against the volatile criminal Shane (Hawkes).

The film is being produced by Keith Kjarval, through his Unified Pictures production/finance banner and Aaron L. Gilbert, via Bron Studios, in association with CW Media Finance. Nicole Romano at Anonymous Content manages Sluser and is Executive Producer on the film. International sales are being handled by Mimi Steinbauer’s Radiant Films, who will present the project to buyers at the Cannes Film Market in May.

“It is a great joy to be able to bring Tom Drury’s hauntingly beautiful story to life with such profoundly talented actors, all of whom have inspired me for years,” said Sluser.

Commented Kjarval, “We are quite excited about making this film as it is so darkly humorous and wrought with atmosphere and frankly, I am excited to be telling such a delicious story with some of my favorite actors.”

“Excited to see Bron and Unified team up again on what is a moving and comedic film, being brought to life by a dynamic young filmmaker Zachary Sluser,” said Gilbert.

Principal photography is scheduled to begin on May 14th in greater Vancouver.

(Photo Credit: Andres Otero / Ivan Nikolov / FayesVision / Nikki Nelson / Joseph Marzullo /