Netflix’s Tick, tick…BOOM! Adds Vanessa Hudgens and Alexandra Shipp


Netflix’s Tick, tick…BOOM! Adds Vanessa Hudgens and Alexandra Shipp

Netflix’s Tick, tick…BOOM! adds Vanessa Hudgens and Alexandra Shipp

According to The Hollywood Reporter, High School Musical alum Vanessa Hudgens and Alexandra Shipp (Love, Simon) have been tapped to star opposite Oscar nominee Andrew Garfield in Lin-Manuel Miranda’s upcoming feature directorial debut tick, tick…BOOM!, which will be based on Jonathan Larson’s (Rent) autobiographical Off-Broadway show of the same name. In addition, Robin de Jesus has also been cast for the Netflix film.

RELATED: Sandra Bullock Teaming With Netflix For Unforgiven Adaptation

Inspired by the young playwright’s towering ambition, Garfield will play Jon in the musical. Jon, Jon, an aspiring theater composer who waits tables in New York City while writing Superbia, which he hopes will be the great American musical that will finally give him his big career break. The young man is feeling pressure from his girlfriend Susan, who is tired of continuing to put her life on hold for Jon’s career aspiration. Meanwhile, Jon’s best friend and roommate Michael has given up on his creative dream and has taken a high paying advertising job on Madison Avenue and is preparing to move out. As Jon approaches his 30th birthday, he is overcome with anxiety, wondering if his own impossible dream is worth the cost.

Imagine Entertainment’s Brian Grazer and Ron Howard will produce alongside Julie Oh and Miranda. Steven Levenson (Dear Evan Hanson, Fosse/Verdon) is adapting the screenplay. Julie Larson, Levenson, and Celia Costas will serve as executive producers.

RELATED: Alan Menken, Lin-Manuel Miranda Tease New Song For Little Mermaid Remake

Larson posthumously won three Tony Awards for Rent, a show that enjoyed a dozen-year run to become the 11th longest-running show in Broadway history. When Miranda won his Pulitzer for Hamilton, he and Larson became two of only nine creators of stage musicals who won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

(Photo by Paul Morigi, Jon Kopaloff, and Brian Ach/WireImage via Getty Images)