2008 Saturn Award Nominations Announced

The horror highlights inside!

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films has announced the nominations for the 34th Annual Saturn Awards; here are just some of the horror highlights.

Cloverfield, Sunshine and I Am Legend each took noms in the Best Science Fiction Film category. Meanwhile, the pics vying for Best Horror Film are: 30 Days of Night, 1408, The Mist, Grindhouse, Ghost Rider and Sweeney Todd.

John Cusack, Johnny Depp and Will Smith are contending for Best Actor for their roles in 1408, Sweeney Todd and I Am Legend, respectively. And Sweeney Todd‘s Helena Bonham Carter and The Orphanage‘s Belen Rueda each scored a Best Actress nom.

On the small screen front, Showtime’s “Dexter” scared up five nominations including one for Best Cable Television Series.

For a full list of nominations, click here.

The organization also announced two special awards to be given this year: Guillermo del Toro will receive the coveted George Pal Memorial Award. Author Tim Lucas has been singled out to receive a Special Achievement Award for his 2007 book: “Mario Bava: All the Colors of the Dark.” This critical study of the film work of Director Mario Bava is a life long project and labor of love from author Lucas who spent over 20 years seeing the completion and eventual publication of the book, ably supported by his wife, Donna Lucas.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films is a non-profit organization devoted to honoring, recognizing and promoting genre entertainment. The organization was founded in 1972 by film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed. It is currently headed by film enthusiast Robert Holguin. This year’s show will take place on Tuesday, June 24, in Universal City, California

Source: Saturn Awards


Marvel and DC