Watch and Interact with the Critics’ Choice Awards Thursday!


The Critics Choice Movie Awards presented every year by the Broadcast Film Critics Association (of which’s Edward Douglas is a member), will be announcing their official awards winners on Thursday night, 8pm Eastern and Pacific, and the awards show will be broadcast live on VH1 that night.

Earlier today, they announced some of the presenters which will include Leonardo DiCaprio, Bob Dylan and Olivia Harrison (George Harrison’s widow) presenting a special Music + Film Award Tribute to filmmaker Martin Scorsese for how he “has heightened the impact of films through the brilliant use of source and original music.” Other presenters that night will include George Clooney presenting Sean Penn with the Joel Siegel Award, as well as Melissa McCarthy, Owen Wilson, Kirsten Dunst, Dustin Hoffman, Diane Kruger and Paul Rudd.

They’re also giving viewers a chance to interact with each other and other “bloggers and online movie commenters from around the Web” during the broadcast at VH1 Critics’ Choice Site at If you’re on Twitter, the official hashtag for the show is “#CCMA” and if you tune into the show, you may even be able to see our own Edward Douglas in attendance, and he’ll be sending out a few sporadic tweets via the Weekend Warrior Twitter account, so follow that Twitter account for any on-site insights.

The full press release of the presenters for the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is below:

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) has announced that Leonardo DiCaprio and Olivia Harrison will present “Hugo” director Martin Scorsese with the Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award, in addition to a special musical tribute from Bob Dylan at the 17th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. Hosted by comedians Paul Scheer and Rob Huebel, the show will air live for the fifth straight year on VH1 from the Hollywood Palladium on Thursday, January 12, 2012 at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

The Music+Film Award honors a single filmmaker who has touched audiences through cinematic storytelling, and has heightened the impact of films through the brilliant use of source and original music. In addition to this honor, Scorsese’s film “Hugo” is nominated for 11 Critics’ Choice Awards and he directed the Best Documentary Feature nominee “George Harrison: Living in the Material World.”

Also being honored at the 17th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is renowned actor and humanitarian Sean Penn, who will be presented with the fifth annual Joel Siegel Award by George Clooney. Given annually, this special award pays homage to beloved “Good Morning America” film critic and BFCA member Joel Siegel, who lost his long struggle with cancer in June 2007. It seeks to honor those who understand, as Joel did, that the greatest value of celebrity is as an enhanced platform to do good works for others.

The BFCA also revealed an array of presenters for the 17th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards including Vin Diesel, Kirsten Dunst, Donald Glover, Dustin Hoffman, Mindy Kaling, Ben Kingsley, Diane Kruger, Melissa McCarthy, Elizabeth Olsen, Patton Oswalt, Paul Rudd, Maya Rudolph, Jason Segel and Owen Wilson.

The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 250 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film going public. Eligible films were released in 2011. The accounting firm of CMM, LLP tallied the written ballots.

Since its inception in 1995, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards has been a star-studded bellwether event of the movie awards season. Historically, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations. Last year, for example, all four of the acting category winners at the Oscars – Colin Firth, Natalie Portman, Christian Bale and Melissa Leo – first accepted their awards in the same categories at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. In all, 18 of the 20 actors nominated for Oscars were first Critics’ Choice Movie Awards nominees.

Final ballots for the 17th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards will be sent to BFCA members on January 8, 2012 with a deadline for returning final ballots on January 10, 2012. For more information about the show visit, “Like” VH1 on Facebook, and follow @VH1 on Twitter and use the hashtag #CCMA to talk about the awards!

The 17th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is executive produced by Jesse Ignjatovic for Den of Thieves, Joey Berlin for Berlin Entertainment and Lee Rolontz for VH1.