Cynthia Erivo “Chain of Fools” Cover Released for Genius: Aretha


Cynthia Erivo "Chain of Fools" Cover Released for Genius: Aretha

Cynthia Erivo “Chain of Fools” cover released for Genius: Aretha

On the heels of hosting a special virtual premiere for the third installment in the true drama anthology series, National Geographic and Rhino Records have unveiled a special cover of Aretha Franklin’s “Chain of Fools” from Genius: Aretha performed by star and Oscar nominee Cynthia Erivo. The special cover can be heard in the player below or purchased here!

RELATED: National Geographic Unveils Premiere Date & Trailer for Genius: Aretha

One of Aretha Franklin’s signature songs, this new version features the cast of Genius: Aretha, which stars Erivo as the Queen of Soul. The original version was released in November 1967 as a single and appeared a few months later on Franklin’s third album for Atlantic Records, 1968’s Lady Soul. The song won the 1969 Grammy Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance and was inducted into Grammy Hall of Fame in 2001. This new cover features Erivo on vocals along with Carl Lemar Carter (drums), Dimitry Gorodetsky (bass), Matt Jones (Rhodes piano), and Erick Walls (guitar), with background vocals provided by Patrice Covington, Rebeca Naomi Jones and Toni Scruggs and track was produced by Jamelle Adisa and executive produced by Raphael Saadiq.

Genius: Aretha stars Oscar nominee Erivo (Harriet, The Outsider) as Aretha Franklin, Courtney B. Vance (American Crime Story) as C.L. Franklin, David Cross (Arrested Development) as Jerry Wexler, Malcolm Barett (Timeless) as Ted White, Patrice Convington as Erma Franklin, Kimberly Hebert Gregory (Vice Principals) as Ruth Bowen and Rebecca Naomi Jones (Someone Great) as Carolyn Franklin.

The third installment of Genius will be the first-ever, definitive scripted miniseries on the life of the universally acclaimed Queen of Soul, who passed away at the 76 last August 2018. The production will feature many of Aretha Franklin’s biggest recordings and hit songs from her comprehensive Warner Music catalog, including “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You),” “Chain of Fools,” and “Baby I Love You.” In addition, the series will feature Franklin’s performances of “I Knew You Were Waiting for Me,” “Freeway of Love” and “Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves.”

Suzan-Lori Parks, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Topdog/Underdog, will be executive producer and showrunner for Genius: Aretha Franklin. Fox 21 Television Studios (The Assassination of Gianni Versace, The People v. OJ Simpson)will also return to produce the next installment.

Imagine is partnering with Warner Music Group for this third season, which will again be executive produced by Imagine’s Brian Grazer, Ron Howard and Francie Calfo. Legendary hit record producer Clive Davis and Atlantic Records Chairman and CEO Craig Kallman have also joined as executive producers. Returning executive producers include Ken Biller (Genius: Einstein, Genius: Picasso), Gigi Pritzker and Rachel Shane (MWM Studios), and Sam Sokolow (EUE/Sokolow). Diana Son joins as executive producer. In addition, Imagine’s Anna Culp serves as producer alongside Peter Afterman.

RELATED: Cynthia Erivo To Reprise Podcast Role For Amblin’s Sci-Fi Thriller Carrier

National Geographic premiered the first season of Genius in 2017, which starred Geoffrey Rush as the brilliant scientist Albert Einstein, which earned 10 Emmy nominations, including Outstanding Limited Series, as well as Golden Globe and SAG Award nominations for Rush. The follow-up season, Genius: Picasso, starred Antonio Banderas as the titular Spanish painter, and matched much of the success of its predecessor, earning seven Emmy nominations – and two wins – as well as Golden Globe and SAG Award nominations for Banderas.

Genius: Aretha is set to premiere on Sunday, March 21 at 9 p.m. EST.