Mr. Robot: Bobby Cannavale Cast and Season Premiere Set for October

Mr. Robot Season 3: Bobby Cannavale Joins the Cast, Premiere Date Set

Mr. Robot Season 3: Bobby Cannavale Cast and Premiere Set for October

Mr. Robot Season 3: Bobby Cannavale joins the cast, premiere date set

Boardwalk Empire‘s Bobby Cannavale has been cast in the USA Network‘s Mr. Robot Season 3 as a series regular. Cannavale, who is also known for his work in the TV show Vinyl and the Marvel film Ant-Man, will play Irving, “a laconic, no-nonsense used car salesman.” Recurring guest star BD Wong (Law & Order: Special Victims UnitJurassic World) will now be a regular as well. He plays Whiterose, the leader of the Dark Army, a Chinese-based hacking organization.

Though the show usually premieres in the summer, Mr. Robot Season 3 will return to USA in October of 2017. Executive producer and writer Sam Esmail will return to direct all 10 episodes. Chris McCumber, President, Entertainment Networks for NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment said, “Sam Esmail is a true creative visionary who continues to deliver a series that boldly tackles timely issues and leans into the major headlines of the day. We’re eager to share the next phase of Elliot’s journey with fans this fall.”

“Season 3 of Mr. Robot will engage viewers in a whole new way, with Sam and team continuing to find ways to surprise, challenge and delight the audience. And adding Bobby Cannavale and BD Wong to our cast makes one of the tightest acting ensembles even stronger,” said Jeff Wachtel, Chief Content Officer, NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment in the same statement.

Mr. Robot follows Elliot Alderson (Rami Malek), a cyber-security engineer who becomes involved in the underground hacker group fsociety, after being recruited by their leader (Christian Slater). Following the events of fsociety’s five/nine hack on multi-national company Evil Corp, the second season explores the consequences of that attack as well as the illusion of control.

The series also stars Portia Doubleday, Carly Chaikin, Martin Wallstrom, Grace Gummer, Michael Cristofer and Stephanie Corneliussen.


Marvel and DC