It Prequel Series in the Works at HBO Max

Welcome to Derry: It Prequel Series Finds Showrunners

The planned It prequel series Welcome to Derry has found its showrunners, with Variety reporting that both Jason Fuchs and Brad Caleb Kane will serve as co-showrunners on the series.

RELATED: Welcome to Derry: It Prequel Series in the Works at HBO Max

The series, which was initially reported on earlier this year, has been given a series production commitment from HBO, although exact plot details still remain unknown. The only thing that is known about the series is that it will reportedly focus on the ongoings of the town of Derry in the 1960s as it leads up to the events of It, the 2017 film based on the iconic Stephen King novel.

The prequel series will reportedly also include the origins of Pennywise the Clown, the mysterious and supernatural figure that haunts Derry.

Fuchs previously wrote the teleplay for the first episode of the series and was also a co-producer on It: Chapter Two. He’s primarily known for having worked on the screenplays for Wonder Woman, Pan, and Ice Age: Continental Drift. Kane’s most recent work includes writing credits on Moonhaven and Tokyo Vice, but he’s also worked on previous hit shows like Black Sails.

Andy Muschietti, who directed both It and 2019’s It Chapter Two, will serve as executive producer for the series alongside Barbara Muschietti — his sister — and Jason Fuchs. The report also notes that both Musichiettis and Fuchs developed the story for the show, with Fuchs writing the script. If the project ends up being made into a series, Andy Muschietti is likely to direct the first episode.

MORE: Ice Age: Scrat Tales Trailer Discovers the Nuttiness of Parenthood

The new It films were a massive success at the box office, grossing over $1.1 billion combined at the global box office following their release. It Chapter Two was the latest release, and took place 27 years after the events of the first film, with an entirely new cast that included Jessica Chastain, James McAvoy, Bill Hader, Isaiah Mustafa, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, and Andy Bean.


Marvel and DC