National Treasure Photo: First Look at Main Cast for Disney+ Series

National Treasure Photo Unveils First Look at Main Cast for Disney+ Series

It has been a month since production began on the National Treasure series, and now Disney+ has released the first official photo from the coming-of-age action-adventure series. It currently has no release date attached to it yet, but it might potentially make its debut in 2023.

The National Treasure photo, which you can check out below, offers us our first look at the main cast led by newcomer Lisette Alexis as Jess Morales. She can be seen with Zuri Reed’s Tasha, Antonio Cipriano’s Oren, and Jordan Rodrigues’ Ethan as they wear orange jumpsuits while locked up behind bars. It’s interesting to see why and how these aspiring treasure hunters ended up in prison, which is the one thing that Nicolas Cage’s Ben Gates had always avoided in the films.

RELATED: Disney+’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians Filming Start Date Revealed

Described as an expansion of the Nicolas Cage-led film franchise, “the series is set to explore timely issues of identity, community, historical authorship, and patriotism told from the point of view of Jess Morales, a twenty-year-old DREAMer who, with her diverse group of friends, sets off on the adventure of a lifetime to uncover her mysterious family history and save a lost Pan-American treasure,” reads the logline.

Disney+’s National Treasure series stars Lisette Alexis as Jess, Catherine Zeta-Jones (Prodigal Son) as Billie, Zuri Reed (Flatbush Misdemeanors) as Tasha, Lyndon Smith (Parenthood) as FBI Agent Ross, Jake Austin Walker (DC’s Stargirl) as Liam, Antonio Cipriano (Jagged Little Pill) as Oren, and Jordan Rodrigues (Light as a Feather) as Ethan.

Click here to purchase the original Nicolas Cage-led film and its 2007 sequel.

The first episode of the National Treasure series is being directed by Mira Nair (Queen of Katwe) from a screenplay written by original film writers Marianne and Cormac Wibberley.

RELATED: Disney+ Acquires Live-Action Goosebumps Series

The series hails from the original films’ producer Jerry Bruckheimer and the Wibberleys, who are all serving as executive producers. It is a production by Jerry Bruckheimer Television with ABC Signature as its studio. It is also executive produced by the first film’s director Jon Turteltaub, Jonathan Littman, KristieAnne Reed, and Rick Muirragui, who is also set as a writer.


Marvel and DC