50 States of Fright: Rachel Brosnahan to Star in Sam Raimi Horror Series

50 States of Fright: Rachel Brosnahan to star in Sam Raimi horror series

Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) will star in the upcoming horror series 50 States of Fright for Quibi, Gunpowder & Sky’s new horror brand, ALTER, that explores the human condition through warped perspectives, along with DIGA Studios and POD 3.

RELATED: Kiefer Sutherland and Boyd Holbrook to Star in Quibi’s The Fugitive Reboot

The first season of 50 States of Fright will explore stories based on urban legends from Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Oregon, and Washington, taking viewers deeper into the horrors that lurk just beneath the surface of our country.

Brosnahan, Travis Fimmel (Vikings) and John Marshall Jones (The Last Revolutionary) are set to star in “The Golden Arm” episode based on a famous urban legend out of Michigan, co-written by Sam Raimi (Spider-Man, Army of Darkness, The Evil Dead) and Ivan Raimi (Army of Darkness, Drag Me to Hell, Darkman) and directed by Sam Raimi.

Christina Ricci (Monster) and Jacob Batalon (Spiderman: Homecoming, Spiderman: Far From Home) will play lead roles in the “Red Rum” episode, which follows the storyline of Colorado’s scariest story.

Ming-Na Wen (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, The Mandalorian) is signed on to star in “America’s Largest Ball of Twine,” based on Kansas myth.

Taissa Farmiga (The Nun, American Horror Story) and Ron Livingston (A Million Little Things) are set to co-star in “Almost There,” Iowa’s frightening folklore, which will be written and directed by Iowa natives Scott Beck & Bryan Woods (A Quiet Place, Haunt).

Asa Butterfield (Sex Education, Hugo) is cast as the male lead in “Grey Cloud Island” a chilling tale from Minnesota.

“The driving force for us as a studio is to foster the careers of emerging talent by marrying them with proven innovators,” said Van Toffler, CEO at Gunpowder & Sky. “With 50 States of Fright, we sought out a diverse group of breakthrough performers and fearless horror visionaries and partnered them with Sam Raimi to oversee the creative process. This winning formula ensures we’ll get a s-load of scares.”

RELATED: Sophie Turner and Corey Hawkins to Star in Quibi Thriller Series Survive

Other series writers and directors include Yoko Okumura, Mae Catt, Sarah Conradt-Kroehler, Lee Cronin, Isa Mazzei, Daniel Goldhaber, Cate Devaney, Greg Hale, Eduardo Sánchez, Alejandro Brugués, Ryan Spindell, Adam Schindler, and Brian Netto.

The series will be executive-produced by Sam Raimi and Debbie Liebling through PDO 3, Van Toffler, Tony DiSanto, Cody Zwieg, Barry Barclay, Tommy Coriale, and Chris Mangano.