Holly Hunter Joins HBO’s Succession in Recurring Role


Holly Hunter Joins HBO's Succession in Recurring Role

Holly Hunter joins HBO’s Succession in recurring role

Oscar, Golden Globe, and Emmy winner Holly Hunter (The Piano, Saving Grace) will be joining HBO’s drama series Succession in a Season 2 recurring role, Deadline has confirmed.

Hunter, whose credits also include Here and Now, The Big Sick, Thirteen, Batman v Superman, and Incredibles 2, will play Rhea Jarell, the politically savvy CEO of a rival media conglomerate. The actress will star opposite Emmy Award-winning actor Brian Cox (Nuremberg, Frasier) when the series returns in August.

RELATED: Succession Season 2 Teaser Reveals August Premiere

Beginning where season one dramatically left off, season two follows the Roy family as they struggle to retain control of their empire, and while the future looks increasingly uncertain, it is the past that threatens to ultimately destroy them.

Succession follows the story of the Roy family – Logan Roy (Cox) and his four children – who control one of the biggest media and entertainment conglomerates in the world. The series tracks their lives as they contemplate what the future will hold for them once their aging father begins to step back from the company.

The series also stars Nicholas Braun (Sky High) as Greg Hirsch Alan Ruck (Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Spin City) as Connor Roy, Jeremy Strong (Zero Dark Thirty) as Kendall Roy, Kieran Culkin (Igby Goes Down) as Roman Roy, Sarah Snook (Sisters of War) as Shiv Roy, Hiam Abbass as Marcy Roy, Peter Friedman as Frank Vernon, Natalie Gold (Rubicon) as Rava Roy, Matthew Macfadyen (Spooks) as Tom Wamsgans, and Parker Sawyers (Southside With You) as Alessandro Daniels.

RELATED: Mandatory Streamers: Game of Thrones’ Last Watch Explores Final Season

The show is created by Academy Award nominee Jesse Armstrong, who also serves as its showrunner. Succession launched its ten-episode first season in 2018 with the pilot directed by Oscar winner Adam McKay from a script written by Armstrong. It is executive produced by Armstrong, McKay, Frank Rich, Kevin Messick, Will Ferrell, Jane Tranter, Mark Mylod and Tony Roche.