Fear Street Part 2: 1978 Trailer Takes the Nightmare to Camp Nightwing

Following the successful debut of Fear Street Part 1: 1994 last Friday, Netflix has finally released the full trailer for the second installment of Leigh Janiak’s film adaptations of R.L. Stine’s classic YA horror novel series. The streamer’s summer movie event will continue this Friday, July 9, with Fear Street Part 2: 1978. It will now take viewers 16 years into the past and will introduce a whole new set of teenage characters who will face the wrath of Sarah Frier.

The Fear Street Part 2: 1978 trailer, which you can check out below, teases the aftermath of the first film’s shocking twist as Kiana Madeira’s Deena and Benjamin Flores Jr.’s Josh enlist the help of Gillian Jacobs’ C. Berman, while also highlighting that terror has come to the campers of Camp Nightwing. It gives us a preview of the second film’s main killers including the ax killer that terrorizes the summer camp.

RELATED: Kiana Madeira, Olivia Welch & Benji Flores Jr. Talk Fear Street Part 1: 1994

Based on R.L. Stine’s best-selling horror series, the trilogy follows Shadyside’s sinister history through a nightmare 300 years in the making. Fear Street Part 2: 1978 – Shadyside, 1978. School’s out for summer and the activities at Camp Nightwing are about to begin. But when another Shadysider is possessed with the urge to kill, the fun in the sun becomes a gruesome fight for survival.

Written by Janiak and Zak Olkewicz, the second part stars Sadie Sink, Emily Rudd, Ryan Simpkins, Mccabe Slye, Ted Sutherland, Jordana Spiro, Gillian Jacobs, Kiana Madeira, Benjamin Flores Jr., Ashley Zukerman, Olivia Scott Welch, Chiara Aurelia, and Jordyn Dinatale.

RELATED: Stranger Things Season 4 Adds Anne with an E’s Amybeth McNulty & More

The Fear Street trilogy is directed and executive produced by Janiak. Producers are Peter Chernin, David Ready, Jenno Topping, Doug Torres, and Jeffrey Harlacker with Kori Adelson, Timothy M, Bourne, Yvonne M. Bernard, Joan Waricha, and Jane Stine set as executive producers.


Marvel and DC