Oscars 2020 Airdate Announced and Changes Teased by AMPAS

Oscars 2020 airdate announced and changes teased by AMPAS

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that the 92nd Academy Awards will air on February 9, 2020. This is a big move up for the Oscars 2020 airdate, as the 91st Academy Awards are scheduled to air on February 24, 2019, with nominations to be announced on January 22.

They have also announced that a new category is being designed around achievement in popular film, and that they are planning a more globally accessible, three-hour telecast. The broadcast typically runs close to four hours, with last year’s clocking in at 3 hours and 53 minutes.

Last night cinematographer John Bailey was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors. Also elected to officer positions by the Board are a slew of big industry names, including screenwriter Larry Karaszewski (Ed Wood, The People v. O. J. Simpson, Goosebumps):

• Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)

• Sid Ganis, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)

• Larry Karaszewski, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)

• Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)

• Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)

• David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee)

Bailey is beginning his second term as president and his fifteenth year as a governor representing the Cinematographers Branch. Burwell, Gianopulos, Rubin and Utley were re-elected to their posts. Ganis, who returned to the board this year, served as Academy President from 2005-2009. This will be the first officer stint for Karaszewski.

Bailey is the first cinematographer to hold the position of Academy President. His credits include Ordinary People, American Gigolo, The Big Chill, Groundhog Day, As Good as It Gets, The Anniversary Party, The Way Way Back and A Walk in the Woods.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.