Captain America: Civil War is Crossing the $1 Billion Mark Today


Captain America: Civil War is Crossing the $1 Billion Mark Today

Captain America: Civil War is crossing the $1 billion mark today

With $314 million domestic and $677 million international through May 19, Captain America: Civil War will cross the $1 billion mark today on only its 24th day of global release.

It’s the #1 film of the year globally and the fourth Marvel Cinematic Universe film to surpass the $1 billion threshold, joining The Avengers ($1.518 billion), Avengers: Age of Ultron ($1.405 billion), and Iron Man 3 ($1.215 billion). Together, the 13 MCU films have earned over $10 billion in global box office, with nearly $2.1 billion coming from the three Captain America films.

Captain America: Civil War is also Disney’s 10th billion-dollar release out of the 25 films that have reached this milestone in the history of the industry.

The film added $3.7 million domestically and $5.3 million internationally on Thursday for a global total of $9 million for the day. The Anthony and Joe Russo-directed movie has now earned $991 million worldwide. Captain America: Civil War received an A CinemaScore from audiences and cost $250 million to make before marketing expenses.

Here are the results from the key international territories so far:

China $166.3M
Korea $60.8M
UK $48.3M
Mexico $40.0M
Brazil $35.0M
Japan $23.9M
Australia $22.3M
France $20.7M
Germany $19.2M
Russia $15.5M
Taiwan $15.4M
Hong Kong $14.8M
Philippines $14.0M
Italy $11.6M
India $11.5M
Thailand $11.3M
Malaysia $10.3M
Spain $10.3M
Other $125.5M
Total $676.7M

Captain America: Civil War features the return of Chris Evans as Steve Rogers / Captain America, this time joined by Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark / Iron Man, Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow, Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson / Falcon, Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch, Paul Bettany as The Vision, Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton / Hawkeye and Don Cheadle as Jim Rhodes/War Machine. Sebastian Stan is also back as Bucky Barnes / Winter Soldier alongside Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa / Black Panther, Emily VanCamp as Sharon Carter / Agent 13, Daniel Brühl as Baron Helmut Zemo, Frank Grillo as Brock Rumlow / Crossbones, William Hurt as General Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross, Paul Rudd as Scott Lang / Ant-Man, and Tom Holland as Peter Parker / Spider-Man.

[Gallery not found]

Box Office

Weekend: Oct. 17, 2019, Oct. 20, 2019

New Releases