Yates Officially On for ‘Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix’

The Potter franchise continues to move, even though the fourth film is yet to hit theaters as Warner Bros. officially announced today that acclaimed British television helmer David Yates has been signed to direct Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, the fifth film adaptation of J.K. Rowling’s beloved novel series, for Warner Bros. Pictures. The announcement was made today by Jeff Robinov, President of Production, Warner Bros. Pictures.

After garnering international attention and accolades for his award-winning short films, including earning a BAFTA nomination for his short “Rank,” Yates has become a prolific television director, helming the BBC’s BAFTA-lauded series” The Young Visiters,” “State of Play,” “The Way We Live Now” and “The Sins.”

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix will be produced by David Heyman from a screenplay by Michael Goldenberg (Where the Wild Things Are, Peter Pan). Production on the film is expected to begin in England in January 2006. Heyman is currently producing Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which is in production in London under the direction of Mike Newell, and set for release on November 18, 2005.

“I am thrilled that David Yates is going to direct Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix,” Heyman said. “Not only does he have tremendous passion for the world of Harry Potter, but he is a great director with a keen visual sense who fills every frame with humanity and compassion for his characters.”

“We’ve been fortunate to have worked with very talented directors on the first four Harry Potter films,” Robinov added, “all of whom have brought these extraordinary stories to life with their own unique creative vision. We’re looking forward to continuing that tradition with David Yates on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.”

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix will be distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company and is expected to hit theaters in 2007.


Marvel and DC