First Look at Disney World’s Frozen Ever After Ride

The Wall Street Journal has debuted a first-look image and details about Walt Disney World Resort’s newest attraction, “Frozen Ever After,” which is slated to debut at the park in 2016.

Exclusive Promo Poster Gallery from Licensing Expo 2015!

Based on 2013’s smash hit animated phenomenon Frozen, “Frozen Ever After” will be a showcase ride (not unlike “It’s a Small Small World”) with movie composers Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson Lopez providing new lyrics to existing songs from the film. Disney Imagineers will dismantle the 27-year-old “Maelstrom” ride at Epcot’s Norway pavilion next year to make way for the attraction, which will follow the same path as the previous ride with all-new surroundings.

“What we try to do is take you back to the movie without retelling that story,” said Imagineering creative executive Kathy Mangum. “This is a celebration of the characters, a way for guests who love the film to experience it in a completely different way.”

Set during the Winter Festival (which takes place in summer) in the fictional kingdom of Arendelle, the “Frozen Ever After” ride begins while visitors are still waiting in line as they walk by Wandering Oaken’s Trading Post, in which an animatronic Oaken clears steam on the windows and yells “yoo-hoo!” to people walking by. 

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 Trailer is Here!

Once onboard log transports, riders will see snowman Olaf and reindeer sidekick Sven at the Winter Festival, then to Troll Valley where Grandpappy Troll tells the story of how Anna and Kristof met, then up a ramp where Olaf sings a song while ice skating with Anna and Kristof and their friend Sven. A set of doors will open next to Elsa on her ice castle balcony singing “Let It Go” with simulated snow crystals around the room. Visitors are also transported past Marshmallow, the giant snowman and the Snowgies (from the short film Frozen Fever) before the log finally travels through mist towards a fireworks display and a wave from Elsa, Anna, Olaf, Sven and Kristof.