Paramount’s New Animated Film Rumble Delayed to 2022

Paramount’s New Animated Film Rumble Delayed to 2022

Paramount’s new animated film Rumble delayed to 2022

As the ongoing pandemic proceeds to hit the film industry, many studios have no other choice but to continue to delay their upcoming films which recently included No Time to Die, Ghostbusters: Afterlife, and more. Paramount Pictures have followed suit and decided to officially delay the planned 2021 release of their long-delayed animated sports comedy film Rumble.

RELATED: Raya and the Last Dragon Trailer Teases Journey to Unite the World

Originally scheduled for a May 14, 2021, theatrical release, the Will Arnett-led film has now been pushed back to next year on February 18, 2022. This marks the fourth time that the project has been delayed since last year. The new date sees Rumble going up against another animated film, Apple TV+ and Skydance’s comedy movie titled Luck.

In a world where monster wrestling is a global sport and monsters are superstar athletes, teenage Winnie seeks to follow in her father’s footsteps by coaching a loveable underdog monster into a champion.

Rumble stars Will Arnett (The Lego Batman Movie), Terry Crews (Brooklyn Nine-Nine), Geraldine Viswanathan (The Broken Hearts Gallery), Joe “Roman Reigns” Anoa’i (Hobbs & Shaw), Tony Danza (Who’s the Boss?), Becky Lynch (Billions), Susan Kelechi Watson (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood), Stephen A. Smith (I Think I Love My Wife), Jimmy Tatro (The Wolf of Snow Hollow), Ben Schwartz (Sonic the Hedgehog) and Michael Buffer (Dumbo).

RELATED: Spellbound and Luck: Apple in Talks For Skydance’s First Animated Films

Rumble is directed by Hamish Grieve from a screenplay written by Etan Cohen (Men in Black 3) and Matt Lieberman (Scoob). The film is a co-production between Paramount Animation and WWE Studios and will be produced by Reel FX, Walden Media, Mark Bakshi, and Brad Booker.

Executive Producers include Jeff Fierson, Susan Levison, Richard Lowell, Steve O’Brien, Chuck Peil, Frank Smith, and Naia Cucukov.