2013 BAFTA Film Awards Announced


The EE British Academy Film Award were presented in London on Sunday at the Royal Opera House, hosted by Stephen Fry, and Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight) took home Best Picture although Alfonso Cuaron’s Gravity was the big winner of the night, taking home six BAFTAs. Other than that, the love was spread among many of the other awards-worthy movies that have received acclaim this past awards season.

While 12 Years a Slave won the top honor as well as a Best Actor win for Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfonso Cuaron took home Best Director for his outer space thriller Gravity, while the Supporting Actor awards went to Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle (beating “12 Year’s” Lupita Nyong’o) and in a surprise win, Barkhad Abdi for Paul Greengrass’ Captain Phillips.

Cuaron’s Gravity also swept most of the technical awards including Cinematography, Sound, Score, Visual Effects and took home Best British Film.

Cate Blanchett continued her unstoppable run towards Oscar night by winning Best Actress for her performance in Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine, the BAFTA joining her SAG, Golden Globe and Critics Choice awards.

American Hustle and Philomena took home the respective original and adapted screenplays.

It’s important to note that the BAFTA nominations were quite different from the Oscar nominations with a number of clear omissions such as Dallas Buyers Club, which hadn’t opened in England yet and was ineligible. Also, Alexander Payne’s Nebraska received a nomination for actor Bruce Dern, but none of the other corresponding Oscar nominations.

You can read the full list of winners below (courtesy Awards Daily) as well as the official announcement from BAFTA of the winners below that:

Best Picture – 12 Years a Slave
Best Director – Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
Best Actor – Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Best Actress – Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Best Supporting Actor – Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Best Adapted Screenplay – Philomena, Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
Best Original Screenplay – American Hustle, Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
Best Cinematography – Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki
Best Documentary – The Act of Killing
Best Animated Feature – Frozen
Best Music – Gravity, Steven Price
Best British Film – Gravity
Best Editing – Rush
Best Production Design – The Great Gatsby
Best Costume Design – The Great Gatsby
Best Sound – Gravity
Best Visual FX – Gravity
Best Hair & Make – American Hustle
Best British Short, Live Action – Room 8
Best British Short, Animation – Sleeping with the Fishes
Outstanding British Debut – Kelly & Victor
BAFTA Rising Star – Will Poulter

At tonight’s EE British Academy Film Awards 12 Years a Slave was named Best Film with Chiwetel Ejiofor winning Leading Actor. The Awards were hosted by Stephen Fry and held at London’s Royal Opera House.

Gravity won six awards: Outstanding British Film, Original Music, Cinematography, Sound and Special Visual Effects with Alfonso Cuarón winning for Director.

American Hustle won three BAFTA Awards: Original Screenplay for Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, Make Up & Hair, and Supporting Actress for Jennifer Lawrence.

Production Design and Costume Design were awarded to The Great Gatsby.

Leading Actress was presented to Cate Blanchett for playing the title role in Blue Jasmine – her third BAFTA win ­– and in his feature film debut Barkhad Abdi won Supporting Actor for Captain Phillips.

Director and Writer Kieran Evans received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for his first feature film Kelly + Victor.

Adapted Screenplay was awarded to Jeff Pope and Steve Coogan for Philomena, Steve Coogan also produced and starred in the film.

The Great Beauty won the award for Film Not in the English Language and the BAFTA for Editing went to Rush.

The Act of Killing received the Documentary award and Frozen took home the BAFTA for Animated Film.

The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public, was presented to Will Poulter.

Sleeping with the Fishes won the British Short Animation award and the British Short Film award was presented to Room 8.

Director Peter Greenaway whose films include The Draughtsman’s Contract and The Cook, The Thief, His Wife & Her Lover received the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema. The Fellowship, the highest honour the Academy can bestow, was presented to Helen Mirren by HRH The Duke of Cambridge.