Guardians of the Galaxy’s Tyler Bates Set to Score The Suicide Squad


Guardians of the Galaxy's Tyler Bates Set to Score The Suicide Squad

Guardians of the Galaxy’s Tyler Bates set to score The Suicide Squad

According to the Film Music Reporter, Guardians of the Galaxy composer Tyler Bates will again be teaming up with long-time collaborator James Gunn as he have officially been tapped to score Warner Bros.’ highly-anticipated DCEU film The Suicide Squad. This project will be the sixth collaboration between Bates and Gunn, who have worked together on Slither, Super, Movie 43, and the first two Guardians of the Galaxy films.

Bates is clearly no stranger to high-profile projects as he is also best known for his work on action films such as: Zack Snyder’s 300, and Sucker Punch; David Leitch’s Deadpool 2; and Derek Kolstad’s massive blockbuster film franchise of John Wick.

RELATED: James Gunn Teases The Suicide Squad & Guardians Vol. 3

The Suicide Squad cast includes: David Dastmalchian, John Cena, Jai Courtney, Joaquín Cosío, Nathan Fillion, Joel Kinnaman, Maylin Ng, Flula Borg, Sean Gunn, Juan Deigo Botto, Storm Reid, Pete Davidson, Taika Waititi, Alice Brage, Steve Agee, Tinashe Kajese, Daniela Melchior, Peter Capaldi, Julio Ruiz, Jennifer Holland, Viola Davis, Idris Elba, Margot Robbie, and Michael Rooker.

Davis, Robbie, Courtney, and Kinnaman will all play the same roles they had in the 2016 film, reprising as Amanda Waller, Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, and Rick Flag, respectively. The cast is also stacked with other James Gunn alums like David Dastmalchian, Nathan Fillion, Sean Gunn, Steve Agee, and Michael Rooker, plus fellow Marvel creatives like Taika Waititi.

RELATED: James Gunn Teases Rocket’s Big Part in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

The movie is written and directed by Gunn. Chuck Roven and Peter Safran will serve as producers. Nik Korda is executive producing the movie.

The Suicide Squad will hit theaters on August 6, 2021.