Anthony Daniels Wraps C-3PO on Star Wars: Episode IX


Anthony Daniels Wraps C-3PO on Star Wars: Episode IX

Anthony Daniels wraps C-3PO on Star Wars: Episode IX

Anthony Daniels posted a message to fans on Twitter today announcing that he has wrapped C-3PO’s last day on Star Wars: Episode IX. Check out the message below as Daniels, who has appeared in all nine of the main Star Wars movies since 1977, commemorates his time on set.

Recently, star John Boyega revealed that the film is set ‘roughly one year’ after 2017’s Star Wars: The Last Jedi; a much bigger leap than the time shift between The Force Awakens and The Last Jedi which picked up almost exactly where the 2015 film concluded.

Returning cast members for Episode IX include Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo and Billie Lourd. Joining the cast are Naomi Ackie (Doctor Who), Richard E. Grant (Logan), Dominic Monaghan (Lord of the Rings), Matt Smith (Doctor Who) and Keri Russell (The Americans), who will also be joined by veteran Star Wars actors Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels and Billy Dee Williams, who will reprise his role as Lando Calrissian.

RELATED: Mark Hamill Compares Star Wars: Episode IX Script Security to CIA

The role of Leia Organa will once again be played by Carrie Fisher, using previously unreleased footage shot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Star Wars: Episode IX began filming at London’s Pinewood Studios on August 1, with J.J. Abrams (Star Wars: The Force AwakensStar Trek) returning to direct the final installment of the Skywalker saga. Abrams co-wrote the screenplay with Chris Terrio (ArgoJustice League). Composer John Williams, who has scored every chapter in the Star Wars saga since 1977’s A New Hope, will return to a galaxy far, far away with Episode IX.

The film will be produced by Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Michelle Rejwan, and executive produced by Callum Greene and Jason McGatlin.

Star Wars: Episode IX is scheduled for release on December 20, 2019.