Listen to ‘Night’, a New Track from John Carpenter’s Lost Themes

ON

sbr123-johncarpenter-lostthemes-1400_1024x1024

Master of sound and sight, John Carpenter is ringing in the New Year with a career retrospective at New York City’s BAM and the release of Lost Themes, an album of fresh Carpenter jams untethered to any particular films. As both approach in the beginning of February, a new track from the record has made its way online. 

Sacred Bones Records, who’re releasing Lost Themes this February 3rd, have shared “Night” via Soundcloud, and which you can listen to below. As with first song “Vortex,” “Night” is immediately delightful, soothing as it’s so recognizably Carpenter, but pulsating as a song itself.



Just days after Lost Themes’ release, John Carpenter: Master of Fear will kick off at BAM with the man himself in conversation, hosted by On the Media’s Brooke Gladstone. Following that is an 18-film series celebrating the director’s legacy. Of course, all-out classics like HalloweenThe ThingEscape from New York and Assault on Precinct 13 are on deck, as are the undervalued treasures like In Mouth of Madness, Prince of Darkness and The Fog. Most films, including MadnessPrince of DarknessVampiresStarman and EFNY will be presented in 35MM. 

The retrospective, running February 5th-22nd, also features a sidebar of films programmed by Carpenter. Carpenter Selects includes Forbidden Planet, Sam Peckinpah’s Straw Dogs and William Friedkin’s unbearably tense Sorcerer. All are cited by Carpenter for their scores, as well as being major influences.

You can find the full schedule of John Carpenter: Master of Fear, below. For tickets, head to BAM.

Thu, Feb 5

8pm: John Carpenter: Lost Themes with Brooke Gladstone

Fri, Feb 6

3, 5, 7:30, 10pm: Halloween

Sat, Feb 7

7, 9:30pm: The Thing

Sun, Feb 8

6:30, 8:30pm: The Fog

Mon, Feb 9

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: In the Mouth of Madness

Tue, Feb 10

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Memoirs of an Invisible Man

Wed, Feb 11

5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Prince of Darkness

Thu, Feb 12

7:30, 9:30pm: Dark Star

Fri, Feb 13

2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: Big Trouble in Little China

Sun, Feb 15

2, 6:30pm: Assault on Precinct 13 4, 8:30pm: Straw Dogs

Mon, Feb 16

2, 7pm: Christine 4:30, 9:30pm: Sorcerer

Tue, Feb 17

5, 7:15pm: Forbidden Planet 9:30pm: Vampires

Wed, Feb 18

5, 9:40pm: Village of the Damned 7:30pm: Vampires

Thu, Feb 19

5, 7:15pm: Ghosts of Mars 9:30pm: The Ward

Fri, Feb 20

2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: They Live

Sat, Feb 21

2, 7pm: Escape from New York 4:30, 9:30pm: Escape from L.A.

Sun, Feb 22

4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Starman

Box Office

Weekend: Oct. 24, 2019, Oct. 27, 2019

New Releases