CinemaCon Awards: Stephen Amell to be Honored

Stephen Amell will receive a CinemaCon Award.

Arrow and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows star Stephen Amell will be honored with a CinemaCon award

Stephen Amell will be presented with a CinemaCon award at next month’s event. The Arrow and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows star will be honored as the “CinemaCon Male Star of Tomorrow Award,” it was announced today by Mitch Neuhauser, Managing Director of CinemaCon. CinemaCon, the official convention of The National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO) will be held April 11 – 14, 2016 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. Amell will be presented with this special honor at the CinemaCon Big Screen Achievement Awards ceremony taking place the evening of Thursday, April 14, at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace. The event is hosted by the Coca-Cola Company, the official presenting sponsor of CinemaCon 2016.

“Already making his mark on the small screen, Stephen Amell is poised to break out this summer on the big screen with his starring role in ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows,'” said Neuhauser. “We are excited to honor this exciting up-and-coming actor with this year’s Male Star of Tomorrow Award.”

Amell currently stars as Oliver Queen/Green Arrow on The CW television series Arrow, based on the DC Comics title. This summer, however, he can be seen staring in Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon MoviesTeenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows. Amell stars as vigilante Casey Jones alongside Megan Fox, Will Arnett, Laura Linney and Tyler Perry. The film is produced by Michael Bay, Andrew Form, Brad Fuller, Galen Walker and Scott Mednick. Based on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles characters created by Peter Laird and Kevin Eastman, the June 3 release is written by Josh Appelbaum & André Nemec and directed by Dave Green.

News of this year’s CinemaCon Award for Male Star of Tomorrow comes on the heels of the news earlier this week that Bryce Dallas Howard is set to receive a CinemaCon Award for Excellence in Acting.

(Photo Credit: Nicky Nelson /