Winners of the 4th Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards

Source:   BTJA
June 19, 2014

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) tonight announced the winners of the 4th annual Critics' Choice Television Awards. Seventeen of the best series in television were honored at the Beverly Hilton Hotel at a star-studded gala awards show, which was broadcast live on The CW. Actor/comedian Cedric the Entertainer hosted.

FX was the most awarded network with five wins, followed by HBO with four wins. "Fargo" (FX) and "Orange Is the New Black" (Netflix) tied as most honored series with three wins each. Allison Janney was the only actor to receive two performance awards: Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for "Mom," tied with Kate Mulgrew in "Orange Is the New Black," as well as Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series for "Masters of Sex."

"Breaking Bad" won for Best Drama Series, while "Orange Is the New Black" won as Best Comedy Series. Matthew McConaughey and Jim Parsons won Best Actor in a Drama Series for "True Detective" and Best Actor in a Comedy Series for "The Big Bang Theory," respectively. Tatiana Maslany was honored as Best Actress in a Drama Series for "Orphan Black," while Julia Louis-Dreyfus won for Best Actress in a Comedy Series for her role in "Veep," both for the second year in a row. "Breaking Bad's" Aaron Paul was awarded Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series; "Brooklyn Nine-Nine's" Andre Braugher was awarded Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series; and "Scandal's" Bellamy Young was named Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series. Uzo Aduba was named Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series for her role in "Orange Is the New Black."

For the first time, BTJA separated the Best Movie and Best Mini-Series categories. "The Normal Heart" won for Best Movie, and Matt Bomer won Best Supporting Actor in a Movie or Mini-Series for his performance. "Fargo" was awarded Best Mini-Series, and its stars Billy Bob Thornton and Allison Tolman were honored as Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress in a Movie or Mini-Series, respectively. Jessica Lange won Best Actress in a Movie or Mini-Series for her performance in "American Horror Story: Coven."

"Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey" took home awards for Best Reality Series and Best Reality Host, Neil DeGrasse Tyson. The Best Reality Series-Competition category went to "Shark Tank." "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon" won the Best Talk Show category, and "Archer" won for Best Animated Series.

In addition, "Extant" (CBS), "Gotham" (FOX), "Halt and Catch Fire" (AMC), "The Leftovers" (HBO), "Outlander" (Starz), "Penny Dreadful" (Showtime) and "The Strain" (FX) were honored as Most Exciting New Series.

BTJA honored Ryan Murphy with the Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award, established to honor excellence in the television industry. Jim Parsons presented the award to the Emmy Award-winning creator, writer and director, whose "The Normal Heart" and "American Horror Story: Coven" were both awarded.

The Critics’ Choice Television Awards honored programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014, except for the Most Exciting New Series category, which are shows premiering after May 1, 2014.

(Photo Credit: FayesVision/

| 0 comments | Add a comment

From Around the Web

comments powered by Disqus
Latest Headlines:

Attack the Block's Joe Cornish Offered King Kong Reboot, Skull Island
Paul Greengrass Targets Agent Storm: My Life Inside Al Qaeda
Frozen's Hans and Pabbie Head to ABC's Once Upon a Time
Guardians of the Galaxy Unleashes Another TV Spot
Exclusive Interview with James Gunn on Guardians of the Galaxy
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Teaser Trailer is Here!
Three New Stills Take Us Inside Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb
Eva Green Targets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Disney's The Jungle Book Adds Christopher Walken and Giancarlo Esposito
Comic-Con: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Gag Reel Debuts
Comic-Con: Extended Red Band Trailer for Frank Miller's Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
Comic-Con: Check Out New Cosplay Photos from San Diego!
Update: Test Footage for Deadpool Feature Film Online
Meet the Villains of Disney Infinity: Marvel Super Heroes in New Trailer
Comic-Con: Most Craved Mini Reactions to Hall H's Biggest Saturday Reveals
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 Trailer is Here!
Comic-Con: Captain America's Cracked Shield from Avengers: Age of Ultron
Comic-Con Interview: The Makers of LAIKA's The Boxtrolls

Follow on Twitter
From our partners