Camerimage Announces Competition Juries

Source:   Camerimage
November 8, 2013

Camerimage, the International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography, has announced today its full jury roster for the upcoming festival, running November 16 to 23 in Bydgoszcz, Poland. The names include directors Jos Stelling and Albert Hughes, Oscar-nominated cinematographers Caleb Deschanel, Ed Lachman, Tom Stern, Stuart Dryburgh and Jost Vacano and many more.

Jury members of the main competition jury are Oscar nominee Tom Stern, cinematographer (Million Dollar Baby, Gran Torino, The Hunger Games); Oscar nominee Ed Lachman, cinematographer (Erin Brockovich, The Virgin Suicides, I’m Not There); Todd McCarthy, journalist and film critic (Visions of Light, Corman’s World: Exploits of a Hollywood Rebel); Primetime Emmy nominee Denis Lenoir, cinematographer (Paris, je t’aime, Righteous Kill, 88 Minutes); Adam Holender, cinematographer (Midnight Cowboy, Smoke, Fresh); Timo Salminen, cinematographer (The Man Without a Past>, La Havre, The Match Factory Girl); Franz Lustig, cinematographer (Don’t Come Knocking, Land of Plenty, Palermo Shooting); and Jeffrey Kimball, cinematographer (Top Gun, Mission: Impossible II, The Expendables).

Oscar nominee Jost Vacano, cinematographer of such films as Total Recall, RoboCop and Starship Troopers, is Jury President of the Polish Films Competition. The other jury members are Oscar nominee Stuart Dryburgh, cinematographer (The Piano, Bridget Jones’s Diary, The Recruit); Dennis Dembia, Vice President, entertainment PR agency Rogers & Cowan; BAFTA Film Award nominee Michael Seresin, cinematographer (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Midnight Express, The Life of David Gale); and Primetime Emmy nominee Sean Bobbitt, cinematographer (Shame, 12 Years a Slave, The Place Beyond the Pines).

Award-winning director Jos Stelling (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, De illusionist) is the Jury President of the Cinematographers Debuts' Competition. Joining him on the jury are Goert Giltay, cinematographer (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, The Stone Raft); Reed Morano, cinematographer (Frozen River, Kill Your Darlings, The Magic of Belle Isle); Daniele Nannuzzi, cinematographer (Santa Sangre, Empire, Due partite); and Piotr Kukla, cinematographer (Twin Sisters, The Zookeeper, Bride Flight).

Albert Hughes is the Jury President for the Directors Debuts' Competition. Hughes was the co-director of Menace II Society, From Hell and The Book of Eli. The rest of the jury is comprised of Witold Stok, cinematographer (Close My Eyes, Murphy’s Law, Best); Steven Fierberg, cinematographer (Love & Other Drugs, Secretary, A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master); Peter Menzies Jr., cinematographer (Die Hard: With a Vengeance, The Incredible Hulk, Shooter); and Jaroslav Kucera, producer (Dark Blue World, Zelary, Up and Down).

Barry B. Sandrew, stereographer for films such as Shrek 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides and Transformers: Dark of the Moon, is the Jury President for the 3D Competition – the newest addition to the Festival. The other jury members include Markus Lanxinger, stereographer (The Amazing Spider-Man, Texas Chainsaw 3D, The Green Hornet); Matthew R. Blute, editor (Storm Surfers 3D, Stalingrad, Katy Perry: Part of Me); and Glen MacPherson, cinematographer (Rambo, Resident Evil: Afterlife, The Three Musketeers).

Overseeing the Students Etudes Competition is Jury President Caleb Deschanel, five-time Oscar®nominated cinematographer for films such as The Patriot, The Passion of the Christ and National Treasure. The other jury members are Lech Majewski, director, writer and producer (The Mill and the Cross, Basquait); Phedon Papamichael, cinematographer (The Pursuit of Happyness, The Descendants, Sideways); Tony Lawson, film editor (Barry Lyndon, The Brave One, Straw Dogs); Sergey Trofimov, cinematographer (Night Watch, Mongol: The Rise of Genghis Khan, Day Watch); Daniel Pearl, cinematographer (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday the 13th, Aliens vs. Predators: Requiem); and Anastas Michos, cinematographer (Born on the Fourth of July, Man on the Moon, Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles).

Presiding over the Feature Documentary Films Competition is Jury President Joan Churchill, cinematographer and director of Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer, Shut Up & Sing and Kurt & Courtney. Other jury members are Alan Barker, sound editor and cinematographer (Dogtown and Z-Boys, Beyond the Mat, West of Memphis); Primetime Emmy nominee Ewa Ewart, producer and director (Children of Beslan); Martina Radwan, cinematographer (William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe, Train, Hot Coffee); and Lawrence Grobel, writer and journalist.

Jury members for the Short Documentary Films Competition are Jury President Stephen Lighthill, cinematographer (Coming Out Under Fire, Nash Bridges, The Huntress); Jay Rosenblatt, director and cinematographer (A Pregnant Moment, Human Remains, The Smell of Burning Ants); Lorenzo Castore, photographer, director and cinematographer; Rachel Morrison, cinematographer (Fruitvale Station, Sound of My Voice, Any Day Now); and Primetime Emmy nominee Declan Quinn, cinematographer (Leaving Las Vegas, In America, Rachel Getting Married).

The Jury President for the Music Videos Competition is Samuel Bayer, director and cinematographer for films and music videos such as A Nightmare on Elm Street, Green Day: Bullet in a Bible and Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” The Rolling Stones’ “Anybody Seen My Baby?” and Marilyn Manson’s “Disposable Teens.” Rounding out the jury are Robert Leszczynski, music critic and journalist; Roberto Schaefer, cinematographer (Finding Neverland, The Kite Runner, Quantum of Solace); Stephen Keith – ROACH, cinematographer (music videos for talents Radiohead, Jamiroquai, Robbie Williams, Tina Turner, U2 and many others); Daniel Pearl, cinematographer (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday the 13th, Aliens vs. Predators: Requiem); and Andrzej Smolik, musician.

Camerimage’s prestigious Golden Frog, Silver Frog and Bronze Frog awards will be bestowed upon competition titles representing the greatest achievements in cinematography.

| 0 comments | Add a comment

From Around the Web

comments powered by Disqus
Latest Headlines:

Terminator Genisys Storyboards Reveal a Battle Scene
Gal Gadot Passes on Ben-Hur Due to DC Comics Comittments
Takeshi Furusawa's 2006 Ghost Train Headed for English-Language Remake
Wrath of the Titans Scribe Boards Something Wicked This Way Comes
New Trailer and Poster for The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water
Legendary's Skull Island Gets a Rewrite from Academy Award Nominee John Gatins
The Bennet Sisters Assemble in the First Still from Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Casting Breakdown for Supergirl TV Series Reveals New Details
Seth Rogen to Play Steve Wozniak Opposite Christian Bale's Steve Jobs
Evil Dead's Fede Alvarez to Direct A Man in the Dark
A Most Violent Year Reveals a Final Poster Design
New Live-Action Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Trailer Featuring Taylor Kitsch and Emily Ratajkowski
Lily Collins and Eva Longoria Board Untitled Lowrider Film
10 Moments We Want to See in Captain America: Civil War
Jason Reitman Boards Hulu Series Casual
AMC Picks Up The Night Manager Starring Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston
Most Craved Takes on Marvel's Mighty Movie Announcements
Game of Thrones Cast Renews Contracts Through Season 7

Follow on Twitter
From our partners