Robert Zemeckis Hits Replay ?

ON

Robert Zemeckis could be setting up a return to time travel with an adaptation of the Ken Grimwood novel Replay, Vulture reports.

The book, published in 1988 is officially described as follows:

A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney’s “Time and Again”, Ken Grimwood’s acclaimed novel “Replay” asks the provocative question: “What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you’d made before?” Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a ad ead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It’s all the same… but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series… every Kentucky Derby… even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn’t know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win – and lose – everything he loves?

The screenplay, drafted by Jason Smilovic, made the 2010 “black list” of unproduced projects and Zemeckis appears keen to mark it for his next live-action film (something he hasn’t tackled since Cast Away in 2000).

Zemeckis’ schedule is potentially hectic, though, as he’s rumored to also be up for the drama Flight, another time-travel film, Timeless, a sequel to his Who Framed Roger Rabbit and a CGI/live action hybrid How to Survive a Garden Gnome Attack.