‘Precious’ Dominates the 2010 Spirit Awards


Last night the 25th Film Independent Spirit Awards at LA Live’s panoramic event deck in downtown Los Angeles and talk about predictable as I nailed 12 of the 13 winners in the categories I predicted, with Precious being the night’s biggest winner taking home Best Feature, Director, Actress, Supporting Actress and First Screenplay. The only category I missed was Best First Feature, which I predicted Oren Moverman’s The Messenger would take home the award, but instead it went to Scott Cooper’s Crazy Heart, which also won for Best Actor, awarding Jeff Bridges on his way to an Oscar win this Sunday.

I have listed all the winners below, see you Sunday for the Oscars.

Best Feature

  • Amreeka
  • (500) Days of Summer
  • The Last Station
  • Precious
  • Sin Nombre

Best Director

  • Michael Hoffman, The Last Station
  • Lee Daniels, Precious
  • Joel and Ethan Coen, A Serious Man
  • Cary Fukunaga, Sin Nombre
  • James Gray, Two Lovers

Best Actor

  • Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
  • Colin Firth, A Single Man
  • Joseph Gordon-Levitt, (500) Days of Summer
  • Souleymane Sy Savane, Goodbye Solo
  • Adam Scott, The Vicious Kind

Best Actress

  • Maria Bello, Downloading Nancy
  • Nisreen Faour, Amreeka
  • Helen Mirren, The Last Station
  • Gwyneth Paltrow, Two Lovers
  • Gabourey Sidibe, Precious

Best Supporting Actor

  • Jemaine Clement, Gentlemen Broncos
  • Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
  • Christian McKay, Me and Orson Welles
  • Ray McKinnon, That Evening Sun
  • Christopher Plummer, The Last Station

Best Supporting Actress

  • Dina Korzun, Cold Souls
  • Mo’Nique, Precious
  • Samantha Morton, The Messenger
  • Natalie Press, Fifty Dead Men Walking
  • Mia Wasikowska, That Evening Sun

Best Screenplay

  • Adventureland
  • (500) Days of Summer
  • The Last Station
  • The Messenger
  • The Vicious Kind

Best First Feature

  • Crazy Heart
  • Easier With Practice
  • The Messenger
  • Paranormal Activity
  • A Single Man

Best First Screenplay

  • Amreeka
  • Cold Souls
  • Crazy Heart
  • Precious
  • A Single Man

Best Foreign Film

  • An Education
  • Everlasting Moments
  • The Maid
  • Mother
  • A Prophet

Best Documentary

  • Anvil! The Story of Anvil
  • Food, Inc.
  • More Than a Game
  • October Country
  • Which Way Home

Best Cinematography

  • The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans
  • Cold Souls
  • A Serious Man
  • Sin Nombre
  • Treeless Mountain

John Cassavetes Award
Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer.

  • Big Fan
  • Humpday
  • New Year Parade
  • Treeless Mountain
  • Zero Bridge

Acura Someone to Watch Award
The 16th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

  • Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Easier With Practice
  • Asiel Norton, Redland
  • Tariq Tapa, Zero Bridge

True than Fiction Award
The 15th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

  • Natalia Almada, El General
  • Jessica Oreck, Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo
  • Bill Ross, Turner Ross, 45365

Piaget Producers Award
The 13th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

  • Karin Chien, The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa
  • Larry Fessenden, I Sell the Dead, The House of the Devil
  • Dia Sokol, Beeswax, Nights & Weekends

Robert Altman Award
Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast

  • A Serious Man