‘Avatar’, ‘An Education’ and ‘The Hurt Locker’ Lead 2010 BAFTA Nominations


Photo: Orange British Academy Film Awards

Today the nominations for the 2010 Orange British Academy Film Awards were announced and Avatar, An Education and The Hurt Locker lead the way with eight nominations each followed closely by District 9 with seven and Inglourious Basterds and Up In the Air each pulling in six each. The only film not amongst the nomination leaders that was nominated for Best Film is Lionsgate’s Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire, which did manage four nominations.

Looking over the nominations there are a few that stand out as breaking from the norm, such as Neill Blomkamp (District 9) and Lone Scherfig (An Education) both getting directorial nominations alongside James Cameron, Kathryn Bigelow and Quentin Tarantino. Both District 9 and An Education have enjoyed plenty of love during the awards season, but this is a nice bonus that both Blomkamp and Scherfig should be proud of.

In the lead actor nominations it was pretty much standard outside of Andy Serkis (Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll) scoring a lead actor nom. I thought Tom Hardy (Bronson) may be able to score a BAFTA nom for lead actor, but it seems the extra space went to Serkis for a film I have not yet seen.

The lead actress category experienced a bit of a shake-up, though, with Saoirse Ronan (The Lovely Bones) and Audrey Tautou (Coco Before Chanel) each getting the nod. Tautou and Ronan’s inclusion means no Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side), a surprise for those following the Oscar race, but perhaps not that much of a surprise for people that saw more than five films this past year with solid lead actress performances. Bullock’s omission (she was ineligible due to The Blind Side not yet seeing an overseas release), however, is not as much a surprise as is the fact Tautou and Ronan were nominated rather than Emily Blunt (The Young Victoria) and Helen Mirren (The Last Station).

I’m happiest to see Christian McKay (Me and Orson Welles) getting nominated for Best Supporting Actor, a prediction I am holding onto against better judgment when it comes to the Oscars. And while it’s ineligible here in the States apparently, the hilarious Brit comedy In the Loop was nominated for Original Screenplay and Outstanding British Film. At least it’s getting attention somewhere.

Finally, the nominees for the Orange Rising Star Award include Jesse Eisenberg (Adventureland and Zombieland), Nicholas Hoult (A Single Man), Carey Mulligan (An Education and Brothers), Tahar Rahim (A Prophet) and Kristen Stewart (Adventureland and The Twilight Saga: New Moon). Fans can vote on that award right here.

All that said, here is the complete list of nominations. The Orange British Academy Film Awards take place on Sunday, February 21 at The Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London. It will be broadcast on the BBC, but I’m not sure if it will be televised here in the States.


  • Avatar – James Cameron, Jon Landau
  • An Education – Amanda Posey, Finola Dwyer
  • The Hurt Locker – Nominees TBC
  • Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire – Lee Daniels, Sarah Siegel-Magness, Gary Magness
  • Up In the Air – Ivan Reitman, Jason Reitman, Daniel Dubiecki


  • An Education – Amanda Posey, Finola Dwyer, Lone Scherfig, Nick Hornby
  • Fish Tank – Kees Kasander, Nick Laws, Andrea Arnold
  • In the Loop – Kevin Loader, Adam Tandy, Armando Iannucci, Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Tony Roche
  • Moon – Stuart Fenegan, Trudie Styler, Duncan Jones, Nathan Parker
  • Nowhere Boy – Kevin Loader, Douglas Rae, Robert Bernstein, Sam Taylor-Wood, Matt Greenhalgh


  • LUCY BAILEY, ANDREW THOMPSON, ELIZABETH MORGAN HEMLOCK, DAVID PEARSON – Directors, Producers – Mugabe and the White African
  • ERAN CREEVY – Writer/Director – Shifty
  • STUART HAZELDINE – Writer/Director – Exam
  • DUNCAN JONES – Director – Moon
  • SAM TAYLOR-WOOD – Director – Nowhere Boy


  • Avatar – James Cameron
  • District 9 – Neill Blomkamp
  • An Education – Lone Scherfig
  • The Hurt Locker – Kathryn Bigelow
  • Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino


  • The Hangover – Jon Lucas, Scott Moore
  • The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
  • Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino
  • A Serious Man – Joel Coen, Ethan Coen
  • Up – Bob Peterson, Pete Docter


  • District 9 – Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell
  • An Education – Nick Hornby
  • In the Loop – Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
  • Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher
  • Up In the Air – Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner


  • Broken Embraces – Agustín Almodóvar, Pedro Almodóvar
  • Coco Before Chanel – Carole Scotta, Caroline Benjo, Philippe Carcassonne, Anne Fontaine
  • Let the Right One In – Carl Molinder, John Nordling, Tomas Alfredson
  • A Prophet – Pascale Caucheteux, Marco Chergui, Alix Raynaud, Jacques Audiard
  • The White Ribbon – Stefan Arndt, Veit Heiduschka, Margaret Menegoz, Michael Haneke


  • Coraline – Henry Selick
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox – Wes Anderson
  • Up – Pete Docter


  • JEFF BRIDGES – Crazy Heart
  • GEORGE CLOONEY – Up In the Air
  • COLIN FIRTH – A Single Man
  • JEREMY RENNER – The Hurt Locker
  • ANDY SERKIS – Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll


  • CAREY MULLIGAN – An Education
  • SAOIRSE RONAN – The Lovely Bones
  • GABOUREY SIDIBE – Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire
  • MERYL STREEP – Julie & Julia
  • AUDREY TAUTOU – Coco Before Chanel


  • ALEC BALDWIN – It’s Complicated
  • CHRISTIAN McKAY – Me and Orson Welles
  • ALFRED MOLINA – An Education
  • STANLEY TUCCI – The Lovely Bones
  • CHRISTOPH WALTZ – Inglourious Basterds


  • ANNE-MARIE DUFF – Nowhere Boy
  • VERA FARMIGA – Up in the Air
  • ANNA KENDRICK – Up in the Air
  • MO’NIQUE – Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire


  • Avatar – James Horner
  • Crazy Heart – T-Bone Burnett, Stephen Bruton
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox – Alexandre Desplat
  • Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll – Chaz Jankel
  • Up – Michael Giacchino


  • Avatar – Mauro Fiore
  • District 9 – Trent Opaloch
  • The Hurt Locker – Barry Ackroyd
  • Inglourious Basterds – Robert Richardson
  • The Road – Javier Aguirresarobe


  • Avatar – Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua, James Cameron
  • District 9 – Julian Clarke
  • The Hurt Locker – Bob Murawski, Chris Innis
  • Inglourious Basterds – Sally Menke
  • Up in the Air – Dana E. Glauberman


  • Avatar – Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair
  • District 9 – Philip Ivey, Guy Poltgieter
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Stuart Craig, Stephenie McMillan
  • The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus – Nominees TBC
  • Inglourious Basterds – David Wasco, Sandy Reynolds Wasco


  • Bright Star – Janet Patterson
  • Coco Before Chanel – Catherine Leterrier
  • An Education – Odile Dicks-Mireaux
  • A Single Man – Arianne Phillips
  • The Young Victoria – Sandy Powell


  • Avatar – Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson, Tony Johnson, Addison Teague
  • District 9 – Nominees TBC
  • The Hurt Locker – Ray Beckett, Paul N. J. Ottosson, Craig Stauffer
  • Star Trek – Peter J. Devlin, Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer, Mark Stoeckinger, Ben Burtt
  • Up – Tom Myers, Michael Silvers, Michael Semanick


  • Avatar – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones
  • District 9 – Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros, Matt Aitken
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – John Richardson, Tim Burke, Tim Alexander, Nicolas Aithadi
  • The Hurt Locker – Richard Stutsman
  • Star Trek – Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh, Burt Dalton


  • Coco Before Chanel – Thi Thanh Tu Nguyen, Jane Milon
  • An Education – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou
  • The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus – Sarah Monzani
  • Nine – Peter ‘Swords’ King
  • The Young Victoria – Jenny Shircore


  • Jesse Eisenberg
  • Nicholas Hoult
  • Carey Mulligan
  • Tahar Rahim
  • Kristen Stewart