Presenters & Host Set for 17th Annual Gotham Awards


Meryl Streep, Josh Brolin, Kyra Sedgwick, Maggie Gyllenhaal and Uma Thurman have been set as presenters at the 17th Annual Gotham Awards taking place at Brooklyn’s Steiner Studios on November 27th, organizers announced today.

Organizers also announced that Tony Award®-winning actress and playwright Sarah Jones will host the awards ceremony. Her critically-acclaimed show, “Bridge & Tunnel,” captured the 2006 Tony Award® for Best Theatrical Event.

Produced by IFP, the nation’s largest membership organization of independent filmmakers, The Gotham Awards are the leading awards for independent film.

Adding to the all-star line-up of presenters will be Peter Sarsgaard (Kinsey), Keri Russell (Waitress), Tabu (The Namesake), Kerry Washington (The Last King of Scotland), Vera Farmiga (The Departed) and director Sidney Lumet (Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead).

A highlight of this years ceremony will be presentations to several Gotham Awards Tribute honorees including:

– Mayor Michael Bloomberg presented by Meryl Streep
– Roger Ebert presented by Sidney Lumet
– Javier Bardem presented by No Country For Old Men co-star, Josh Brolin
– Mira Nair presented by Uma Thurman and Tabu
– Jonathan Sehring, president of IFC Entertainment, presented by Maggie Gyllenhaal

This year’s Awards will be broadcast to nearly 20 million people through distribution partnerships with NYC TV, Documentary Channel and Netflix. The NYC TV broadcast will air on Tuesday, December 4th at 9:00pm, and Saturday, December 8th at 8:00pm.