Disney Records to Release Nightmare Revisted


New cover songs Elfman’s soundtrack

On September 30th, Walt Disney Records unveils Nightmare Revisited with 20 fresh recordings and beloved covers of the music, mayhem, and merriment from Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Danny Elfman returns to recapture the musical landscape he masterfully created for the original The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack with two brand new recordings of the “Opening” and “Closing.” Adding a new tantalizing twist to Nightmare favorites, Nightmare Revisited also boasts Korn, Amy Lee, Plain White T’s, Rise Against, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and Flyleaf. Of course the soundtrack could not be complete without a popular ghost of Nightmare’s past: Marilyn Manson’s eerie cover of “This Is Halloween.”

Each artist re-imagines the most beloved Nightmare anthems, incorporating their signature styles and bringing a hauntingly delightful new sound to life.

Danny Elfman adds, “The new Nightmare Revisited is much more diverse compared to the 13th Anniversary Special Edition. The approach in every song is different. Instead of just covering the songs, they turned groups loose on the score itself. Hearing all these interpretations of the songs and score is a huge treat. There are bands with their psychedelic abstract visions – Sparkle Horse, Vitamin String Quartet and Polyphonic Spree – and they’re counter-balanced with solid performances by Korn, Rise Against and All American Rejects.”

Here’s a track listing:

1. Overture – DeVotchka

2. Opening – Danny Elfman

3. This Is Halloween – Marilyn Manson

4. Jack’s Lament – All American Rejects

5. Doctor Finkelstein/In the Forest – Amiina

6. What’s This? – Flyleaf

7. Town Meeting Song – Polyphonic Spree

8. Jack and Sally Montage – The Vitamin String Quartet

9. Jack’s Obsession – Sparklehorse

10. Kidnap the Sandy Claws – Korn

11. Making Christmas – Rise Against

12. Nabbed – Yoshida Brothers

13. Oogie Boogie’s Song – Rodrigo y Gabriela

14. Sally’s Song – Amy Lee

15. Christmas Eve Montage – RJD2

16. Poor Jack – Plain White T’s

17. To the Rescue – Datarock

18. Finale/Reprise – Shiny Toy Guns

19. Closing – Danny Elfman

20. End Title – The Album Leaf

Tiger Army recorded their version of “Oogie Boogie’s Song” with producer Jerry Finn. The bonus track is only available digitally.

Source: Walt Disney Records