Director Takes Crack at King’s Talisman

ON

Watch his 6-minute demo reel

Fans of Stephen King and Peter Straub’s The Talisman are toughened, at this point, to Hollywood’s fickle relationship to the fantasy novel. Last September, Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy canned TNT’s proposed six-part mini-series while the budget was re-evaluated.

Canadian director Mathieu Ratthe took matters into his own hands and created a six-minute Talisman-related demo reel. Essentially, he made a scene from the book to “demonstrate my directing ability and my vision to the producers who own the rights to the story,” as he tells SlashFilm. As Jack Sawyer, Ratthe cast Ultraviolet‘s Cameron Bright. Watch on and tell us what you think of it in our comments section below! Do you think Ratthe pulled it off?

Source: SlashFilm